Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 46 to 57 of 57

Thread: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

  1. #46
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    94
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    1.3 reached EOL.
    2.0 will reach it after 12 months from now that they announce 2.4.

    By the way, now with 2.4 out and with so many improvements and changes why
    people still need dead software ?

    No more improvements on both 1.3 and 2.0 only critical security fixes and bug fixes.

    FrontPage has been discontinued by Microsoft and the whole universe generally...
    Anyone having ancient 90's websites can use DAV. FrontPage has an option to connect to a WebDav server.

    +1 for 2.2 and 2.4 (in the near future)

  2. #47
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    1,040
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    This thread was created almost one year ago and still there is no resolution about what to do with Apache 1.3?

    May WHM start to adquire anonymous stats of the usage of the different services, you would already figured out what to do.
    IMHO, this thread should be pinned or highlighted in some way to retrieve more opinions.

    Cheers

  3. #48
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,296
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kent Brockman View Post
    This thread was created almost one year ago and still there is no resolution about what to do with Apache 1.3?

    May WHM start to adquire anonymous stats of the usage of the different services, you would already figured out what to do.
    IMHO, this thread should be pinned or highlighted in some way to retrieve more opinions.

    Cheers
    Apache 1.3 needs to go away sooner or later, let's all establish that as a reality. Realistically, we will make advanced notice etc, but Apache 1.3 going away is inevitable.

    One of the reasons we're asking this question is to determine the "why" regarding why they still use Apache 1.3 or 2.0. As previously implied, this is not the only venue from which we are collecting this information. The feedback we have received has been enlightening. For example, one of our customers used an old version of Apache just because they liked our support of FastCGI better on the older Apache version, something we addressed in the latest EasyApache. They can now comfortably move to Apache 2.2 and likely Apache 2.4 once we support it. It's production scenarios like that which we are interested in learning about.

  4. #49
    Registered Member vlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    232
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    As Apache progresses the more secure it becomes and more features get added to make it preform faster and better than before as time goes on.

    Apache 2.2 is very nice and I am looking forward to when Apache 2.4 comes out.
    Thank you,

    Veldon Lee - President
    Point Action Services, Inc. Web Hosting and other services.

  5. #50
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    Well I for one will be sorry to see Apache 1.3 go. I understand the arguments for it being EOL and all that, but I've seen an instance recently (as in the last week) where an Apache 2.2 installation with fcgid configured on cPanel that was leaking memory so badly that it was causing OOM kernel errors by burning up over 3 gigs of what should have been available ram. Restart the httpd process and memory utilization was back to normal and then you went around again.

    Downgraded that server to Apache 1.3 (as in tried, tested, almost unbreakable 1.3) and it hasn't missed a beat since, and you can't tell me that I need Apache 2.2 on a box that's only doing 10 to 15 hits per second.

    The only reason I found this thread right now was because I was searching for known issues with Apache 2.2.22, as the Easyapache on another server is showing a rebuild within the last 5 days (presumably an auto upgrade) and which now with Apache and fcgid configured has started leaking ram like the other one. You just don't tend to see these sorts of bizarre issues cropping up with old and battle tested versions of software.

    Just my 2 cents, YMMV.

  6. #51
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    402
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    Quote Originally Posted by almecho View Post
    Well I for one will be sorry to see Apache 1.3 go. I understand the arguments for it being EOL and all that, but I've seen an instance recently (as in the last week) where an Apache 2.2 installation with fcgid configured on cPanel that was leaking memory so badly that it was causing OOM kernel errors by burning up over 3 gigs of what should have been available ram. Restart the httpd process and memory utilization was back to normal and then you went around again.

    Downgraded that server to Apache 1.3 (as in tried, tested, almost unbreakable 1.3) and it hasn't missed a beat since, and you can't tell me that I need Apache 2.2 on a box that's only doing 10 to 15 hits per second.

    The only reason I found this thread right now was because I was searching for known issues with Apache 2.2.22, as the Easyapache on another server is showing a rebuild within the last 5 days (presumably an auto upgrade) and which now with Apache and fcgid configured has started leaking ram like the other one. You just don't tend to see these sorts of bizarre issues cropping up with old and battle tested versions of software.

    Just my 2 cents, YMMV.
    Have you tried Apache 2.0?

  7. #52
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,296
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    Quote Originally Posted by almecho View Post
    Well I for one will be sorry to see Apache 1.3 go. I understand the arguments for it being EOL and all that, but I've seen an instance recently (as in the last week) where an Apache 2.2 installation with fcgid configured on cPanel that was leaking memory so badly that it was causing OOM kernel errors by burning up over 3 gigs of what should have been available ram. Restart the httpd process and memory utilization was back to normal and then you went around again.

    Downgraded that server to Apache 1.3 (as in tried, tested, almost unbreakable 1.3) and it hasn't missed a beat since, and you can't tell me that I need Apache 2.2 on a box that's only doing 10 to 15 hits per second.

    The only reason I found this thread right now was because I was searching for known issues with Apache 2.2.22, as the Easyapache on another server is showing a rebuild within the last 5 days (presumably an auto upgrade) and which now with Apache and fcgid configured has started leaking ram like the other one. You just don't tend to see these sorts of bizarre issues cropping up with old and battle tested versions of software.

    Just my 2 cents, YMMV.
    I advise also submitting a support ticket/bug report (if you haven't already done so) so we can investigate the cause of that fcgid issue and fix it, rather than letting it persist due to us not encountering it in our formal testing nor informal use of the software.

    Note, EasyApache is never run automatically with exception of when cPanel&WHM is installed onto a freshly provisioned server.

  8. #53
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    15
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    I'm using 2.2 expecting 2.4

  9. #54
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    28
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    Speaking as a member of Anonymous and as an Administrator.

    I'd suggest Apache 2.4 as soon as possible.

    I'd also suggest the option for Nginx.

  10. #55
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    I did the same I switched to 2.2 almost as soon as it was available on EasyApache, and I'm considering abandon support for PHP 4 in our server for 2012.

  11. #56
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    1,040
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    Quote Originally Posted by dritan1 View Post
    I did the same I switched to 2.2 almost as soon as it was available on EasyApache, and I'm considering abandon support for PHP 4 in our server for 2012.
    Yes, it's the trend. We already abandoned PHP 4 support but had to advice people on how to migrate their scripts to PHP5. The feature I'm waiting for is the dual support for PHP 5.2 and PHP 5.3/4 in order to be able to gradually migrate those old PHP5.2 scripts to the new version. We embraced MySQL 5.5 too

  12. #57
    Registered Member Duplika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    47
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Do you still need Apache 1.3 or Apache 2.0?

    Using 2.2, expecting 2.4 and / or adding nginx as an alternative on EA. Not using 1.3 in any server for a while already.
    Duplika :: Web Hosting en Argentina
    Hosting con 99,9% uptime por SLA, CloudLinux y SSD

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 07:28 PM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 05:21 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-12-2008, 02:38 PM
  4. easy apache - going from apache 1.3 to apache 2.2 gotchas?
    By boatdesign in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2008, 06:59 AM
bargain