Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 52354]

  1. #1
    Registered Member monarobase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    498
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 52354]

    Our setup :
    We have two cPanel web servers : web1 and web2 both synchronised with DNS only servers ns1 and ns2.

    How we transfer an account from web1 t o web 2 :
    We use WHM account copy to copy an account from web1 to web2. This way the files and database on web1 remain intact. We then quickly change the IP's back to web1 server's IP to allow us to check everything is working on web2 before changing the DNS records.

    Our feature request :
    We would like to have an option in WHM (available to root user) to not change the IP's and to keep the existing DNS records when using the account copy feature WHM on a server associated cPanel DNS only .

    Why we want this :
    This would remove the risk of some visitors seing the site on the new server before it is fully tested.

    When this would have come in handy :
    We have got a server running with PHP 5.2. On this server we have got an account running the lastest available version of Joomla 1.0.x. Joomla 1.0.x is not compatible with PHP 5.3.

    When I copied this account, I was lucky to have kept the DNS records pointing to the PHP 5.2 server as I did not know it was running on an old version of Joomla and there fore not compatible.

    I'm now working on the copy of the joomla site on the PHP 5.3 server with the hosts file on my computer modified. Once I have successfully updated Joomla! to a version that is compatible with PHP 5.3 I will edit the DNS records to point to the new server.

  2. #2
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,296
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default re: Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 52354]

    To clarify: the reason the public site is being served from the new server rather than the old server has more to do with DNS clustering rather than the transfer process (and options selected during that process). The goal of this request is to retain the ability to serve content from the old server rather than the new server despite having 2 accounts in the cluster with the same domain and perhaps the same username.

  3. #3
    Registered Member monarobase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    498
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default re: Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 52354]

    Yes, thank you

    This option would only need to be available if the cPanel server is in a DNS cluster.

  4. #4
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,610
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default re: Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 52354]

    We already have an internal case about allowing the DNS records not to be changed for account restores and transfers. That is case 52354.

    I do not believe that it should have anything to do with DNS clustering situations. The existing case simply requests an option to keep the existing zone file without changing it on transfer or restore. It should be a simple check box to either keep the existing zone or change the zone regardless of whether the account is being transferred within a cluster or not. Limiting it to only cluster situations inherently increases the complexity of the script due to having to detect clustering.
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    68

    Default re: Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 52354]

    +1 on this.happened to me several times.had to manually modify dns zone on old server and revert it until everything was tested

  6. #6
    Registered Member monarobase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    498
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default re: Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 52354]

    Quote Originally Posted by cPanelTristan View Post
    We already have an internal case about allowing the DNS records not to be changed for account restores and transfers. That is case 52354.

    I do not believe that it should have anything to do with DNS clustering situations.
    Great, sounds perfect

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5

    Angry Leave DNS Zone in Tact when Transferring Between Servers

    Afternoon all,

    We have come across an issue where if you are running a DNS cluster, and you have multiple WHM boxes using the cluster, when you transfer an account between WMH servers it wipes the DNS Zone.

    This is extremely frustrating if you've setup a custom A record, MX record or CNAMES as you need to make sure you note everything down before you transfer the account.

    What would be great is if the zone is left in tact or there is an option to leave the zone in tact so that you preserve the zone settings.

    Seems to be a pointless exercise having a DNS cluster but not being able to maintain settings through a transfer.

    Cheers,

    Greg

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Leave DNS Zone in Tact when Transferring Between Servers

    +1 for this.

    Very important.

    Also there could be on option to select that only records that have the IP of the old server should be changed. Any other IP should be left unchanged. The restore a backup function could work in similar fashion but one could have an input as what the old IP was.

  9. #9
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,610
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Leave DNS Zone in Tact when Transferring Between Servers

    This already exists as a feature request that has an internal case (52354):

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f145/option...ml#post1044262
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  10. #10
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,296
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Option to not change IPs in DNS records during account copy. [Case 5235

    In pursuing this discussion with some off the forum, the going trend is to leave it up to the sysadmin to manually bind/unbind the IPs to the appropriate server as part of the transfer process. Is this acceptable?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-17-2012, 07:57 AM
  2. Filed with Developers Remove Keep Dns Zone Option [Case 56393]
    By Datcrack in forum Feature Requests for cPanel & WHM
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 02:17 AM
  3. account copy option failed to restore mysql
    By bhanuprasad1981 in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 12:05 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2009, 12:53 AM
  5. How do I change server ips and change dns zone refresh intervals
    By deu12000 in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2004, 09:48 PM
bargain