Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Flush my dns cache

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9

    Default Flush my dns cache

    Whats the cpanel/whm/command equivalent of XP's ipconfig /flushdns?

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Registered Member dafut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    75

    Default

    In WHM, restart named. WHM > Restart Services > DNS Server (BIND)

    That should flush your cache.

  3. #3
    Registered Member This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,499

    Default

    If you're in the root shell, it's kinder to just:

    rndc flush
    Jonathan Michaelson

    cPanel Server Configuration, Security and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    http://www.configserver.com

  4. #4
    Registered Member dafut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Thanks Jonathan.

    I, for one, always appreciate your input on how to get things done.

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chirpy View Post
    If you're in the root shell, it's kinder to just:

    rndc flush
    Funny as the man pages for rndc don't mention the flush option.

    Thank you for that!
    Last edited by ramjet666; 01-29-2007 at 03:06 AM.

  6. #6
    Registered Member This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,499

    Default

    The man pages are not much help at all for rndc command line switches. You can get better info by just typing in:

    rndc
    Jonathan Michaelson

    cPanel Server Configuration, Security and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    http://www.configserver.com

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    132

    Default

    Jonathan you are a mine of useful info: I'd Googled this and the stuff I turned up just didn't work, but this worked straight off. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] FLUSH QUERY CACHE once per day for database
    By ASTRAPI in forum Database Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-17-2014, 07:19 AM
  2. DNS/Cache FLUSH Question
    By ayezee33 in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2014, 07:20 AM
  3. cPanel DNS Only Flush?
    By EIS-Mike in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2012, 07:53 AM
  4. DNS cache problem
    By nasplet in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 08:28 AM
  5. DNS Cache poisoning - how to protect myself?
    By viktor_smk in forum Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 03:14 AM
bargain