Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: How To change NameServer Ip ?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default How To change NameServer Ip ?

    helo i have problem

    when i check to intodnscom i have some error

    Looks like the A records (the GLUE) got from the parent zone check are different than the ones got from your nameservers. You have to make sure your parent server has the same NS records for your zone as you do.I detected some problems as follows:
    For ns1.domain.com the parent reported: ['199.71.213.169'] and your nameservers reported: ['199.71.213.169']
    For ns2.domain.com the parent reported: ['199.71.213.169'] and your nameservers reported: ['199.71.213.169']
    on my domain registrar i set it to this

    ns1.domain.com. ['216.24.204.236'] [TTL=172800]
    ns2.domain.com. ['199.71.213.169'] [TTL=172800]
    so i check nameserver on whm

    ns1.domain.com 199.71.213.169
    ns2.domain.com 199.71.213.169
    my question how to change ip

    ns1.domain.com to 216.24.204.236

  2. #2
    PIS
    PIS is offline
    Registered Member PIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    There is Nameserver IP menu in WHM

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Uruguay
    Posts
    58
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    If you have that IP assigned to your server (you can check it via ifconfig), you just only need to edit /etc/nameserverips and change the current IP for the one you need.

    If that IP is not assigned to your server and does not belong to you, you need to change the IP at the registrar for one assigned to your server.

    Have a nice day.

  4. #4
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,611
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    /etc/nameserverips area does not change the IP in the DNS zone file and has no actual use other than display purposes. This area in WHM > Nameserver IPs is likewise not used to set the actual A records for the DNS zone for the nameservers.

    You would need to edit the DNS zone for the nameserver or domain in WHM > Edit DNS Zone and make sure the IP is correct for both.
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  5. #5
    Registered Member PPNSteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    Posts
    352
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    how can we get the WHM > Nameserver IPs to actually show the proper IP? we did edit /etc/nameserverips to proper ones.
    zone files are correct so it all works, but the display of incorrect IPs is annoying.
    Steve H.
    --------------
    One GigaByte Network
    Domain Names

  6. #6
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,611
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    The file that actually handles WHM > DNS Functions > Nameserver IPs area is at /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml location. If you want this to be changed, you'd want to make a backup of that file, then modify it:

    Code:
    cd /var/cpanel
    cp nameserverips.yaml nameserverips.yaml.bak110711
    vi nameserverips.yaml
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    65
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    Wow,

    Thanks Tristan, I had the same problem and it was driving me bonkers! =0)
    Follow me on Twitter!

    - Eric Gillette

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    65
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    It's amazing when you're working on a client's machine, and find the same post later on to help you resolve the same problem yet again. LOL! =0)
    Follow me on Twitter!

    - Eric Gillette

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    After this Nameserver IP's are empty

    Quote Originally Posted by cPanelTristan View Post
    The file that actually handles WHM > DNS Functions > Nameserver IPs area is at /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml location. If you want this to be changed, you'd want to make a backup of that file, then modify it:

    Code:
    cd /var/cpanel
    cp nameserverips.yaml nameserverips.yaml.bak110711
    vi nameserverips.yaml

  10. #10
    cPanel Staff cPanelMichael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    14,022
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    Quote Originally Posted by dyrer View Post
    After this Nameserver IP's are empty
    Please try running the following command:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenameserverips
    Thank you.
    cPResources: Support Options - Submit a ticket here - Additional Support Options - Forums Search - Mailing Lists - Documentation - Migration Services - Change Logs
    -- cPanelMichael - Migration Specialist, Technical Analyst, cPanel Technical Support

  11. #11
    cPanel Staff cPanelTracey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    We had received clarification on this feature, and the nameserverips.yaml file from our developers. I wanted to share this to clarify the intended behavior.

    The functionality of the "Nameserver IPs" page was changed in 11.30. It is now a report, and not a page meant to configure any aspect of DNS. It reports the nameservers used by zones on the server, as well as a count of the the number of zones that use a given nameserver.

    The nameserverips.yaml file is automatically updated, and not meant to be altered by hand. The script /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenameserverips populates that file automatically. This script retrieves the information it populates the yaml file with by scanning the zones on the server for NS records, then using /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/quickdnslookup to get the IP.

    The correct way of updating the information on Nameserver IPs is through the "Basic cPanel & WHM Setup" page, and to ensure a proper DNS configuration. If the Nameserver IPs page is presenting incorrect information when DNS is set up correctly, this is a bug and should be reported via a support ticket.

  12. #12
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    10
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Website Owner

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    Hi,

    Just to add to the discussion. The current whm 11.32.2 (built 15) does not run the script "/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenameserverips" automatically. So, the WHM > DNS Functions > Nameserver IPs screen will likely report wrong number of zones.

    For example, I have 4 DNS zones from my initial setup, I poked around and added new DNS Zones to test out WHM behaviors. Let's say I added 2 zones called test1.com and test2.com. When I go to edit the zones, test1.com and test2.com zones show up on the Main >> DNS Functions >> Edit DNS Zone screen.

    If I delete the 2 test zones by going through Main >> DNS Functions >> Delete a DNS Zone, the zones will be deleted and will not show up on the user interface screen (Main >> DNS Functions >> Edit DNS Zone screen).

    But if I click on Main >> DNS Functions >> Nameserver IPs, the screen will show my nameservers of having 6 zones (instead of only the actual 4 zones). This is a bug that causes a lot of confusion for new users like me as to what the zone numbers mean.

    With the current whm 11.32.2 (built 15), to display the correct zone numbers, you have to log into shell and run this script /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenameserverips to fix the correct display of the zone numbers.

    WHM/cpanel staff should update the code to run the updatenameserverips script automatically when users choose to "Delete a DNS zone"

  13. #13
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, NY
    Posts
    313
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    Has anything been done on this? I'm configuring a new server, and in needing to update the nameserver settings after the initial setup, I'm finding this extremely clunky and confusing.

    One would expect that the WHM option called Networking Setup -> Nameserver IPs would of course be for setting up nameserver IPs, but as Tristan has noted, it is simply a report - this is confusing and should be fixed.

    In WHM -> Basic cpanel & WHM setup, the option to "Assign IP Address" under "Nameservers" is automatic and doesn't seem to allow the user to specify an IP, so you've gotta play games with reserving IP addresses to get it to do what you want. However, I found that it misbehaves and first assigned an IP that was already reserved and could not be used for the nameserver.

    It also built a zone file for my host name with a .zz after it. The domain for this server hostname is hosted on a different server, but I'm not sure why it built this zone file with the .zz here - perhaps that is expected behavior?

    With the odd behavior for setting up name servers, I do think somebody in cpanel should run through the functionality on a test server and take a close look at it so appropriate improvements and bug-fixes can be implemented.

    Thanks.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    So is there a solution here or not? This method doesn't seem to work >>> /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenameserverips
    Cpanel, please help, this is ridiculous.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: How To change NameServer Ip ?

    So is there a solution here or not? This method doesn't seem to work >>> /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenameserverips
    Cpanel, please help, this is ridiculous.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How can I change nameserver IP?
    By nunybw in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 09:44 PM
  2. Nameserver Change
    By Major Headache in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2006, 12:31 PM
  3. Nameserver change
    By HH-Steven in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-2005, 09:32 PM
  4. Change IP of Nameserver
    By cyon in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2004, 12:27 PM
  5. Change nameserver
    By adriandaz in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-17-2004, 12:02 PM
bargain