Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    100
    cPanel Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Default Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    I recently upgraded several of our servers to 11.32.2 and I am running Centos 6.2. On one of the servers when I edit dns zones I get the error:

    Code:
    Bind reloading on rps-server using rndc: WARNING: key file (/etc/rndc.key) exists, but using default configuration file (/etc/rndc.conf)
    rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
    Error reloading bind on rps-server: WARNING: key file (/etc/rndc.key) exists, but using default configuration file (/etc/rndc.conf)
    rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
    We use seperate dns servers so bind is disabled on all of our hosting servers. This only occurs on one of several servers that all use the same OS and WHM version.

    Anyone know how to fix this? Is it any cause for concern?

  2. #2
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    14
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    Same issue here. Looking for solution

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    Yes, We also have the exact same problem with a CentOS 5.8.

    /scripts/fixndc did't fixed it too - I get no output from it.

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    26
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    Any solution..?

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    330

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    The same thing is happening on all of our 11.32.2 cPanel servers.

    It's not actually a problem because the real nameservers are still being updated - it's just that cPanel is trying to update a local DNS server that is disabled. It is disconcerting to see an error message every time you edit a DNS zone though.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    I resolved this problem by deleting the file /etc/binddisable, it appear to cause this problem and I see no such file on the newly installed servers with CloudLinux 6.x and cPanel 11.32.2.

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    144

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    Quote Originally Posted by rustamt View Post
    I resolved this problem by deleting the file /etc/binddisable, it appear to cause this problem and I see no such file on the newly installed servers with CloudLinux 6.x and cPanel 11.32.2.
    I have this same problem on a brand new server. All I did was enable DNS cluster and now I get the same error in the OP. I have a ticket open for it, and the cPanel tech said it's because the clustering wasn't setup properly. I don't remember this ever being an issue in the past and the /scripts/rndcfix used to always fix it. Is the new solution just to delete the binddisable file???

  8. #8
    JnB
    JnB is offline
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    I have the same issue. Installed tuesday en set up the clustering yesterdag.

    The /etc/binddisable file isn't there so any more idea's ?

  9. #9
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    117
    cPanel Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Default Re: Problem with bind and or dns cluster

    It's a security related warning. It means your DNS is partially default config which means it may be possible for someone out there to compromise or gain access to the control side of your DNS server.

    You need a unique key generated that isn't the standard unconfigured Bind 'default' installation.

    That's basically it!

    Your DNS should still function normally even with the current security warning messages and without you really needing to do anything at all whatsoever and you could just simply choose to ignore the messages but anyone with knowledge of the default configuration for bind might be able to make use of that knowledge for nefarious purposes and that in itself is the reason why the newer versions are issuing the alert.

Similar Threads

  1. Is BIND (named) still necessary if we are using DNS Cluster?
    By electric in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2013, 06:06 PM
  2. DNS Cluster - Should we use BIND or myDNS?
    By electric in forum Workarounds and Optimization
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-19-2012, 12:58 PM
  3. DNS/BIND Cluster Error
    By easyswiss in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-19-2011, 08:05 AM
  4. Cluster Cpanel With Just Bind DNS
    By wififan in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 11:21 AM
bargain