Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Unable to parse zone: Invalid DNS record: Invalid name provided

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    107

    Default Unable to parse zone: Invalid DNS record: Invalid name provided

    I've run into this problem even though the zone file in question was not editted recently.

    It also happens if I just open the zone file and save it without making any edits to the zone file

    Is there a way to trackdown the invalid name a bit more because the zone file has a few hundred lines.

    I'm running cPanel 11.25.0-C40255 - WHM 11.25.0 - X 3.9

  2. #2
    cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst cPanelDon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,554
    cPanel Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Lightbulb

    It is possible that certain entries in the exiting DNS zone are interfering; please try using the "named-checkzone" tool to manually check the DNS zone.

    The following example command could be used via root SSH access; before entering, replace "domain.tld" with the domain name of the zone involved (i.e., the same domain as seen when selecting the zone to edit via WHM):
    Code:
    # named-checkzone -d domain.tld /var/named/domain.tld.db

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Hi cpaneldon,

    I ran the command and it returned
    loading domain.tld from /var/named/domain.tld.db class "IN"
    /var/named/domain.tld.db:18 ignoring out of zone data (site)
    zone domain.tld/IN: loaded serial xxxxxxxxxx
    OK

    Line 18 on the zone is
    site. 14400 IN A ipaddress

    I removed the dot, re-ran the command and it seems to run ok but I still get the invalid name error when I try and edit the zone through whm

    If I manually edit the zone file the new records are listed when I open the zone in whm but I still get the invalid name
    Last edited by mobcdi; 10-29-2009 at 09:06 AM. Reason: expanding the issue

  4. #4
    cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst cPanelDon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,554
    cPanel Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Lightbulb

    When encountering the issue via WHM, is there logged detail in the cPanel error_log?
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    Are any other DNS zones able to be edited successfully (even if just re-saved without changes) via WHM?

    There could be a more subtle (maybe non-fatal) syntax error in the affected DNS zone that could be causing the issue; if you submit a ticket we can take a look to help investigate further.

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    107

    Default

    For internal networking reasons there is only 1 zone file, I will open a ticket and take it from there

  6. #6
    Registered Member battisti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    i'm have a similar problem the message

    Invalid DNS record: Invalid name provided.

    cPanel is send of my application, i using the XmlApi to add a recodr of my DNS zone

    https: //xxx.x.xx.xxx:2087/xml-api/addzonerecord?zone=mysite.com&name=forum&address=xxx.x.xx.xxz&type=A

    My server running the cPanel 11.25

    if i put in the name like "forum.teste" its works, some idea?

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    107

    Default

    cPanel support were able to track it down to an incorrectly entered mx record that was added when I had to merge enteries from a zone into the upper zone.

    It did take a while to track down the exact entry that was causing the problem but thanks have to go to cPanel support for finding it

  8. #8
    cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst cPanelDon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,554
    cPanel Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by battisti View Post
    cPanel is send of my application, i using the XmlApi to add a recodr of my DNS zone

    https: //xxx.x.xx.xxx:2087/xml-api/addzonerecord?zone=mysite.com&name=forum&address=xxx.x.xx.xxz&type=A
    Please try using a name variable in the following format, based upon your provided example:
    forum.mysite.com.
    Code:
    /xml-api/addzonerecord?zone=mysite.com&name=forum.mysite.com.&address=1.2.3.4&type=A

  9. #9
    Registered Member battisti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cPanelDon View Post
    Please try using a name variable in the following format, based upon your provided example:
    forum.mysite.com.
    Code:
    /xml-api/addzonerecord?zone=mysite.com&name=forum.mysite.com.&address=1.2.3.4&type=A
    Using the full name works, i'm enter in conctact with cPanel suport and exist a mistake in the documentation!

    Using the full name works for me thk for help and cPanel equipe suporte is greate!

Similar Threads

  1. 550 invalid DNS A/AAAA resource record
    By Tripolis in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-06-2014, 09:44 AM
  2. DNS only Cpanel invalid hostname
    By blaster701 in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-20-2012, 08:50 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2010, 10:11 AM
  4. Unable to parse zone????
    By jonbeard in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 05:44 AM
  5. Bug? Unable to parse zone: Invalid DNS record: Invalid name provided.
    By bazzi in forum Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 07:42 PM

Tags for this Thread

bargain