Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: how to view and open ports on cpanel?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default how to view and open ports on cpanel?

    hi guys!

    ive not idea on linux...im a completly newbie on linux, so..i installed cpanel and all works well for me..

    now, ive downloaded cPGS to create a gameserver account on my server..and i need to open port 27015 to allow users to login into my counter strike server...

    so..what are the exactly steps to open port 27015 on cpanel?

    thank you very much!
    please, consider i dont know anything about linux..so..i would be very happy if somebody could write the full commands if i need to write something on the shell

    thank you so much
    Last edited by cloferba; 11-23-2009 at 05:17 PM.

  2. #2
    cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst cPanelDon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,549
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Lightbulb

    Are you using a firewall? If yes, what firewall solution is being used? (e.g., manual configuration of iptables, a hardware firewall from the data center, or a third-party script such as an iptables wrapper)

    Unless you're using a firewall of some sort there is no action required to utilize a custom port.

    If you're using a firewall then you would need to edit the configuration of that firewall.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    no..im not using a firewall (or that is i believe)

    ive only installed cpanel on my server...nothing else..

    so..how can i open a port?

    im on centOS

  4. #4
    cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst cPanelDon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,549
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by cloferba View Post
    no..im not using a firewall (or that is i believe)
    ive only installed cpanel on my server...nothing else..
    so..how can i open a port?
    im on centOS
    If no firewall is in use, such as via firewall rules in an iptables configuration, then there is no action required to allow access on a specific port.

    The following command may be used to check the iptables status:
    Code:
    # /etc/init.d/iptables status
    Using the same initialization script for iptables (as seen above) it is possible to "stop" and "start" an iptables-based firewall.

    If a firewall is active and assistance is needed to customize the rule set I recommend checking with the data center staff, on-site systems administrators, or server management team where applicable.

Similar Threads

  1. which ports must be open
    By sniperscope in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 12:35 AM
  2. How to open some ports from my Whm Cpanel?
    By plimper in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 11:12 PM
  3. how to view and open ports on cpanel?
    By cloferba in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 03:29 PM
  4. What WHM/cPanel Ports Must Be Open?
    By selfg in forum New User Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2005, 06:10 PM
  5. Can i open new ports
    By jethost in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-27-2005, 05:07 AM
bargain