Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Wordpress To cPanel

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Wordpress To cPanel

    I have a Webcore Tech. hosted domain and am trying to add my site through cPanel with a specific user/database I used to create the website in phpMyAdmin with XAMPP. When I go to update database map in cPanel and enter the database and user it cannot find it. I do not see an 'Add' or 'Create Database' option anywhere. I try to access myPHPAdmin and the previous developer's myPhp comes up. Mine runs through XAMPP localhost via TCP/IP while his uses WCTClient localhost via UNIX socket. I've also noticed that his myPhpAdmin allows no option to 'Create A Database' on the home screen which I believe it should if I'm not mistaken.

    Basically I'm trying to find the simplest way to get my WordPress site I already have made up and running with the ability to maintain it. Whether I should just upload it directly to GoDaddy which sounds to be pretty seamless I'm still very new to development. I want to get it to it's domain and finish it off privately, then make it public. Thank you very much for any help/opinions.
    Last edited by specht15; 08-11-2011 at 11:27 AM.

  2. #2
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11,426
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Lightbulb Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    I can't assist you with the local server stuff, but what you want is a proper dump of that database including drop tables.

    Basically, in phpMyAdmin select the database on left pane, next, on top click Export tab, be sure all tables are highlighted in the select box, select save output to file, and tick the Add Drop Table option and Go.

    That should give you a proper backup of the database.

    Back in cPanel, You must create a database first (cPanel > MySQL Databases). Next, associate that database with a newly created user user with password (same page). Dont use your cPanel password or username here.

    Now you have the database backup and a new empty database to place it in. You might handle all of this via SSH which would be best, or, assuming this is a new site and the database small, you might import via cPanel > phpMyAdmin.

    In phpMyAdmin, find the NEW database you created and click it on left pane. This time click the Import tab top of page. Select your options here and point the Browse button to the database backup you generated and downloaded from that local server and Go.

    That should get your database into the new cPanel server ok I would think.

    Now you just need to get your wordpress directory backed up (compressed zip file would be best) and upload that zip file to the new cPanel account into a temporary work directory. Go to cPanel > File Manager, create anew directory outside public_html. Navigate into it and upload that zip file of your wordpress. Next, click that zip file and on top of page click Extract.

    With the zip extracted, carefully highlight all wordpress files, right click and choose Move. Type in the path to public_html as needed to do it that way. Or, just drag the carefully selected wordpress files from the right side of File Manager into the public_html/ directory on left pane (or other directory of your choosing inside public_html).

    The File Manager can be tricky if you're not comfortable with it, files can get overwritten or deleted by mistake if you're not careful.

    And finally, you'll need to reconfigure your config.php for the wordpress with your new cPanel database user and password you just created a moment ago.


    I hope thats what you were looking for. GL!

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    thank you very much for the fast reply.

    My problem is it looks like when i log into my cPanel there is no MySQL Databases icon. Only a MySQL Services and clicking this still doesn't show an Add/Update Database. I've seen that in plenty of forums and tutorials but I just don't have the My MySQL Databases or Create/Add Database option anywhere in cPanel. Icons under SQL Services:

    Additional MySQL Access Hosts
    Change MySQL User Password
    Database Map Tool
    Disable Database Prefix
    MySQL Root Password
    phpMyAdmin (which is the previous developers users and databases)
    Repair a MySQL Database
    Setup Remote MySQL Server
    Show MySQL Processes

    If it makes a difference I'm using cPanel WHM VPS Optimized3
    Last edited by specht15; 08-11-2011 at 03:18 PM.

  4. #4
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,611
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    You appear to be in WHM rather than in cPanel for the list you are providing. cPanel is on port 2082 for http or 2083 for https. If you have created the account, you can get to it using WHM > List Accounts and clicking the cPanel icon. You must be in cPanel, not in WHM, to see the MySQL Databases area.
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    Well I guess that explains a lot. Thank you kindly Tristan

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    OK so I am trying to get my WordPress site off local to run live through cPanel. I went through Fantastico in cPanel and created a new WordPress site then exported my local database and imported it to cPanel phpMyAdmin. I also compressed and uploaded my entire site root folder off local into the public_html directory in cPanel then I pasted the original wp-config.php to match the created database. I try to access http://mydomain.com/wp-admin ('mydomain' being my website) and receive

    404 error Not Found
    The requested document was not found on this server.

    ..very frustrating when the wp-admin folder is right there in the public_html cPanel directory... I can't find anything about really troubleshooting and narrowing down the possibilities for this issue... I would really appreciate any help

  7. #7
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,611
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    Are other pages on the website showing up? I'm wondering if you might simply be cached. Otherwise, did you ensure to copy any .htaccess rewrites for WordPress from the old machine to the new machine?
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    i followed the tutorial below which seemed ideal as i'm also using xampp which is a lot like wampp. It is on the same PC just trying to run it through cPanel's phpMyAdmin database. Also the website is working on local though I had to manually edit the wp-config.php back to localhost/sitename because I changed the url to the domain name. The domain does work though at hfpsales.com which is the website so the server is not down.

    The htaccess.txt file is in the public_html directory I have deleted the imported database and folders and just tried to access the site with a fresh wordpress install from scratch and still am getting a 404 error

    How to move a local (Wamp) WordPress site to a live server - YouTube

  9. #9
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11,426
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    Time to speak with your host on this one.


    Good luck.

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    All Webcore said was to change the DNS in Plesk or create a dev.hfpsales.com location in WHM neither of which I've managed to successfully get past this 404 error. Most likely I'm not doing it right but I can't find any tutorials on plesk to cPanel DNS transfers.

  11. #11
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,611
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    Hello specht15,

    Would you be able to open up a ticket in WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature, since you do appear to have root SSH and root WHM access to the machine? This way, we can see what is causing this to continue to not work properly with the actual domain name able to be provided.

    Please post the ticket number here upon opening one.

    Thanks!
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  12. #12
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    My Request ID is 1814138 in the Customer Portal if that is the ticket # I really appreciate the assistance by the way

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    I'm replacing my current website with a Wordpress site that I have developed via Microsoft WebMatrix. I'd like to upload it to my cPanel - is it as easy as creating a zip file of the Wordpress site, then uploading to the public_html folder then extracting, then deleting my existing website? Or is that way too simplistic?

  14. #14
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11,426
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Wordpress To cPanel

    I'm not sure that would work at all. Windows Servers are a bit Different than Linux Servers. You might want to start your own thread on this instead of posting to this one. Or ask your host for assistance.

Similar Threads

  1. wordpress + cpanel
    By thejanitor in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2011, 11:20 AM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 09:54 AM
  3. Wordpress help from Cpanel
    By markallan in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 04:19 PM
bargain