Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Alexandria, Egypt.
    Posts
    21

    Default can't recieve mails - All senders recieve 550-JunkMail rejected

    Here's a failure reply for hotmail user:
    Code:
    Diagnostic-Code: smtp;550-"JunkMail rejected - col0-omc2-s3.col0.hotmail.com [65.55.34.77] is in an
    550 RBL, see DNS queries to spamhaus.org zones not allowed"
    Another mail sent from Japanese University
    Code:
    550-"JunkMail rejected - aarelay1.noc.n-bone.net (aarelay1-s.noc.n-bone.net) 550-[138.243.40.11] is in an RBL, see DNS queries to spamhaus.org zones not 550 allowed"
    and finally, mail sent from Google Apps :
    Code:
    550 550-"JunkMail rejected - mail-ew0-f222.google.com [209.85.219.222] is in an
    550 RBL, see DNS queries to spamhaus.org zones not allowed" (state 14).
    EDITED :
    **SOLUTION**
    WHM ==> Exim Configuration Editor ==> RBLS [Manage] ==> uncheck all
    Last edited by alex_funky_dj; 01-18-2010 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Solved

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    The message "DNS queries to spamhaus.org zones not allowed" is not coming from Spamhaus. A rogue DNS server is hijacking your queries to spamhaus.org and returning "listed" to everything along with that message. To find the culprit you need to look at what DNS servers you are using to resolve those queries on the mail server. Once you know which DNS server (or DNS service) is causing it, please contact ops-eu@spamhaus.org and tell us, as we want to know who is causing the problem you saw.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Alexandria, Egypt.
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Thanks a lot for ur reply, but u know how to check this ??? "sorry am not a prof"

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Your server is using some DNS server(s) to resolve DNS, ask you server engineer which ones they are.

    Also, can you tell me which DNSBLs were configured in Exim Configuration Editor ==> RBLS [Manage]? Did you only have spamhaus.org ones checked or were there others?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Alexandria, Egypt.
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Here's the content of my resolve.conf :
    search hosted.static.webnx.com
    nameserver 206.251.73.9
    nameserver 4.2.2.2

    and both following were checked:
    RBL: bl.spamcop.net
    RBL: zen.spamhaus.org [?]

  6. #6
    cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst cPanelDon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,555
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    DataCenter Provider

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alex_funky_dj View Post
    Here's the content of my resolve.conf :
    search hosted.static.webnx.com
    nameserver 206.251.73.9
    nameserver 4.2.2.2

    and both following were checked:
    RBL: bl.spamcop.net
    RBL: zen.spamhaus.org [?]
    Before editing the resolver configuration I recommend saving a fresh backup, such as by using the following command:
    Code:
    # cp -pv /etc/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf.backup
    I've not usually had any trouble with the secondary resolver listed ("4.2.2.2"); however, the primary resolver listed I'm not familiar with. More information about the primary resolver may be obtained using the following commands:
    Code:
    # whois 206.251.73.9
    # dig -x 206.251.73.9
    When testing a new set of resolvers, to help minimize possible unforeseen difficulty I would consider commenting or removing the "search" line unless it is absolutely needed; I noticed the search entry has the same domain as what is used in the PTR record of the primary DNS resolver:
    Code:
    # dig +noall +answer -x 206.251.73.9
    9.73.251.206.in-addr.arpa. 85884 IN	PTR	ns.webnx.com.
    Here is an alternate set of resolvers, using Google Public DNS:
    Code:
    # cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    Reference:
    Google Public DNS
    Introduction to Google Public DNS
    Using Google Public DNS

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Alexandria, Egypt.
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Thanks a lot @cPanelDon
    I'd changed it to Google DNS.

    @Spamhaus Ops:
    I'll re-enable both now. hope it works fine and no problem

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    No, Google DNS won't work either, see:

    <http://www.spamhaus.org/faq/answers.lasso?section=DNSBL%20Usage#261>

    The problem is basically that Spamhaus is the most used DNSBL on the internet, so DNS traffic for free DNSBLs like zen.spamhaus.org is so high that it represents a large portion of many public DNS service's requests. In some cases the public DNS service decides to stop transporting those queries to reduce their traffic, and in some cases Spamhaus itself must firewall a public DNS service that is massively abusing our DNSBL servers.

    So currently you will find that Google DNS will not resolve spamhaus.org DNSBL queries. (not resolve means that it simply will not answer, so it will appear as if the DNSBL does not work - meaning you will not see any spam blocked). You need to use a more professional DNS service, as with some free public ones you get what you pay for...

  9. #9
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    7,893
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Thumbs up

    Welcome to the forums Spamhaus Ops!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    23

    Default

    So are there any suggestions as to which DNS servers will not have this issue? I, and I imagine like most people, use my datacenter's nameservers as my primary resolvers.

    One solution could be to simply hardcode the IP to zen.spamhaus.org in our hosts file. This would avoid the repeated lookups that is causing the excessive bandwidth at Spamhaus and have the added benefit of improving the speed of the local servers by avoiding the wait associated with the lookups. Seems like a win-win situation.

    Only problem with this is it would depend on how static the zen.spamhaus.org ip (or ip's) actually are.

    Spamhaus Ops: Do you think this would work? If not do you have any other suggestions other than buying 'professional' DNS services as you suggested?

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Can't recieve email?
    By DWHS.net in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2009, 02:22 PM
  2. I can send but not recieve mails from Cpanel
    By ASTRAPI in forum New User Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2009, 02:03 AM
  3. Timeout on recieve
    By IbnKuldun in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-2006, 06:18 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2005, 05:17 AM
  5. After Update: I can't send or recieve any mails !
    By Lobbyhost in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2004, 08:22 AM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube