Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    9

    Default Cant send / recieve all email

    I signed up to a message board and I am waiting on the actvation although when I checked the logs I am getting

    "RCPT TO:<nobody@proboards21.com>" from mail.proboards.com [67.15.247.140] was: 550 5.7.1 <nobody@proboards21.com>... Relay$
    2007-09-20 16:45:54 H=proboards21.com [64.246.60.110] F=<nobody@proboards21.com> rejected RCPT <admin@picsonprofile.net>: S$

    Any idea what this means and how it can be fixed?

    here is my log here

    http://picsonprofile.net/log/exim_mainlog
    Last edited by Ciaran-IRL; 09-20-2007 at 11:15 AM.

  2. #2
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,189
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    This has been discussed on this board a few times. One thing you may want to do with the forum script is set a reply-to address. Additionally, to avoid having email sent as nobody@, set up SuExec/SuPHP so these scripts do not run as user nobody, but rather as the user name of the account in which the script resides.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I dont think you understand what is happening that is the email that was sent by the server for a message board activation its not my server, the email is coming from proboards.

  4. #4
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,189
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran-IRL View Post
    I dont think you understand what is happening that is the email that was sent by the server for a message board activation its not my server, the email is coming from proboards.
    Sorry about that, my mistake.

    In WHM -> Service Configuration -> Exim Configuration Editor, do you have the following setting selected:

    ** Use callouts to verify the existence of email senders. Basiclly, exim will connect to the mail exchanger for a given address to make sure it exists before accepting mail from it.

    If so and that email user isn't reported as existing - it would explain why the message was not delivered.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    9

    Default

    yeah that is ticked.

  6. #6
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,189
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran-IRL View Post
    yeah that is ticked.
    If that nobody@ address does not exist according to that remote mail server, then the message will not be delivered according to that setting. The purpose of the setting is to curb spam coming from fake email addresses.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. What's the largest email we can send or recieve on our server?
    By ljwhite in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 10:48 PM
  2. Can't send, can't recieve email
    By nature in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 08:23 AM
  3. Can't send and recieve email
    By mohsyn in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-19-2005, 01:48 AM
  4. Email: can send cannot recieve, need some input
    By Dommi in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2004, 12:28 PM
  5. Can't Send/Recieve email !
    By FreeFox in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 06:12 AM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube