Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Emails from Google and Hotmail being rejected

    People are trying to send us emails from Google (Gmail) and Hotmail accounts, and are receiving the following failed delivery response.

    Technical details of permanent failure:
    Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain. We recommend contacting the other email provider for further information about the cause of this error. The error that the other server returned was: 550 550-"JunkMail rejected - mail-px0-f195.google.com [209.85.216.195] is in an
    550-RBL, see Sorry 209.85.216.195 is blacklisted at
    550 http://www.backscatterer.org/?ip=209.85.216.195" (state 14).
    Any help would be appreciated, this just started today, never had this problem before.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    What RBLs are you using on your server?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sparek-3 View Post
    What RBLs are you using on your server?
    I don't know, our tech guy is the one who has the server and we can't get a hold of him. I figured it was a issue with cPanel because the email is setup through here. But are you suggesting it's an issue with the server our site files are on?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    It looks like whatever server the messages are being sent to is using the backscatter.org RBL.

    I don't think there are many reputable mail servers around that use the backscatter.org RBL since you have to pay to get delisted. I don't think Google would use such an RBL.

    Are the messages being sent to your server?

    If so, then you may want to investigate what RBLs you are using and whether or not those RBLs are worthy.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sparek-3 View Post
    It looks like whatever server the messages are being sent to is using the backscatter.org RBL.

    I don't think there are many reputable mail servers around that use the backscatter.org RBL since you have to pay to get delisted. I don't think Google would use such an RBL.

    Are the messages being sent to your server?

    If so, then you may want to investigate what RBLs you are using and whether or not those RBLs are worthy.
    I really don't know where the messages are being sent, as I said our tech guy set everything up so I don't know what he's done. Is there some way I can check where the messages are being sent to via cPanel?

  6. #6
    Member cpanelchrish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    so a few quick points

    -this rejection is not generated by a Google mail system, but rather by a mail system that google is trying to send to; meaning another mail system responds to google with the 550 message

    -unless you have specifically gone out of your way to add the backscatterer.org RBL to your RBL list, you are not likely to be using this RBL. This is not one used by cPanel/WHM by default - if you use it (unlikely) you would have had to go in and add it by hand.

    Which leaves us with what?

    Well, google didn't reject it. You didn't reject it. So who rejected it, and why is a message to YOU going to a mail system that you do not control?

    Do the MX records for your domain point at your cpanel server? (rather, at the Exim instance). I would venture to guess probably not, since this is being routed elsewhere.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    MX records are necessary for Google mail and Hotmail, to receive emails?
    and how to add an MX, which is MX?

  8. #8
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,189
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maresiapunk View Post
    MX records are necessary for Google mail and Hotmail, to receive emails?
    and how to add an MX, which is MX?
    By default, cPanel/WHM will automatically create any MX entries you need for your cPanel/WHM server to receive mail.

    MX entries deal with the receiving of email. It's how servers know how to handle email addressed to something@yourdomain.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    how to know if my ip is blacklisted, how can I change it or remove it from the blacklist?

  10. #10
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,189
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maresiapunk View Post
    how to know if my ip is blacklisted,
    Most blacklists have a website where you can check to see if your IP is blacklisted.

    Quote Originally Posted by maresiapunk View Post
    how can I change it or remove it from the blacklist?
    You need to check the website of the blacklist or contact them to see what are their removal procedures.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 02:52 PM
  2. Emails from Google / Hotmail being rejected, help please!
    By MrPresident in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 08:29 PM
  3. emails being rejected
    By sime in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-14-2007, 06:42 AM
  4. Exim's rejected emails going to false emails used by spammers
    By cynux in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2006, 01:46 PM
  5. Fowarded Emails Rejected
    By docbreed in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2006, 01:18 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube