Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    65

    Default Facebook "Please update your email address" fix?

    Me and my clients that use their email address on our server for their facebook account constantly get this message when they log into their facebook page ..."Please update your email address". After confirming that the email works, the message still re-appears. It's a problem for thousands of facebook users. I am now not even receiving facebook emails anymore just recently and check the logs, they don't even hit the server anymore for my domain's email. So I'm wondering if there is a fix on our end to get the messages to come through successfully and get rid of this message at facebook, or at least just get the messages to come through more importantly.

    I've read articles here about facebook being on spamcop or something. here:
    #fail: Facebook has changed their mail domain to facebookmail.com « The Wiert Corner – Jeroen Pluimers’ irregular stream of Wiert stuff

    Facebook email blacklisted by Lunarpages?

    So i'm wondering if there is a "unblock" thing I can do in spamassasin or exim configurator or somewhere in whm or the server or cpanel acct etc..
    I've tried whitelisting the *@facebookmail.com domain but that didn't do anything plus I don't like whitelisting a whole domain.

    Also, my domains are 100% cleared of warnings and errors at dnsstuff too so it's not a dns issue.

    Any ideas or comments on the subject would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,

    Ben

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Not sure there is a fix fox that. I'm in your situatian too. Every day I open facebook and I have to reconfirm my email address. More, I had to add to my spam whitelist all the network block that facebook uses for sending emails since all their ips are blacklisted by SpamCop. Probably this is an issue that will be solved by facebook... at least I hope so

  3. #3
    cPanel Partner NOC cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    28
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    You can add their IP block to the RBL whitelist (WHM -> Service Configuration -> Exim Configuration Editor, RBL -> Whitelist). We've had to do this for a few servers until Facebook resolves their spam issue, and it has been working.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Still having issues with this, opened ticket #717885.

    We're seeing that whitelisting works fine for a few hours, then RBLs seem to kick back in and block messages coming from random Facebook IPs.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    It seems that I solved it. I have added in cPanel, MailScanner Configuration in the whitelist something like 69.63.178. (As I could see, facebookemail.com server has ip addresses from this class). It seems to work just fine right now.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    65

    Default

    so thats the ip? i'll give it a try and see. Do i add just 69.63.178. or something like: 69.63.178.* or 69.63.178.0/24 ?
    Last edited by allwebnow; 06-18-2010 at 12:17 PM.
    Thanks,

    Ben

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Ok, i found the real solution for this.

    1. You need to add *@facebookmail.com to your standard cpanel whitelist.

    2. Then, if you're using mailscanner, you have to also add it to /etc/mail/spamassasin/loca.cf

    Create a new line at bottom and Add this:

    whitelist_from *@facebookmail.com

    The reason mailscanner whitelist didn't work is because spamassasin was still blocking facebook.

    With this I started getting the emails again!!

    Trying to whitelist ip addresses with facebook is close to impossible to harness, I think they have many class C IP addresses that send mail meaning thousands of IP's to figure out.

    I got this info from here:
    The Planet Forums > Whitelisted email still marked as spam?
    Thanks,

    Ben

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    124

    Default

    If your using the Spamcop RBL within exim, they are more than likely being blocked before they even get to mailscanner or spamassassin.

  9. #9
    Member sneader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    La Crosse, WI
    Posts
    932
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by acenetgeorge View Post
    You can add their IP block to the RBL whitelist (WHM -> Service Configuration -> Exim Configuration Editor, RBL -> Whitelist). We've had to do this for a few servers until Facebook resolves their spam issue, and it has been working.
    Unfortunately, the RBL Whitelist Editor is not functional, so doing this will not help.

    See this thread:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f43/exim-rb...en-159169.html

    - Scott

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. use of "shadow" in email-address wont work anymore
    By psfrog in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-28-2008, 11:19 AM
  2. /webmail asks users for "username" not "email address"... why?
    By ryno267 in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-07-2006, 09:22 AM
  3. CPanel "default address" not accepting email for "main account"
    By nsdesign in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2005, 05:48 AM
  4. Change Log in text to "Full Email Address"
    By d-woo in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-11-2004, 11:30 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube