Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    17

    Angry HELP: Exim Blocking Mail from Legitamate Senders

    OK, for some reason Exim is Rejecting Mail from certain Domains. The Senders are Real, and I can send mail to them.

    Here is the exim_rejectlog for the mail being blocked...
    exim_rejectlog:2008-07-01 14:52:52 H=mailgw5.domain.com [111.111.111.111] F=<prvs=some.name=061d836d0@domain.com> rejected RCPT <user@to-domain.com>: Sender verify failed
    Obviously, I have changed names, but you should be able to see what is going on.

    I think the Problem is the "prvs" format, but I am unsure of how to correct the problem in Exim. I do have the following options enabled for Exim.

    1:Add sender rates to the mail log
    2:** Sender Verification

    Cliff Planck

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    inside a catfish
    Posts
    963
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wilburburns View Post
    OK, for some reason Exim is Rejecting Mail from certain Domains. The Senders are Real, and I can send mail to them.

    Here is the exim_rejectlog for the mail being blocked...


    Obviously, I have changed names, but you should be able to see what is going on.

    I think the Problem is the "prvs" format, but I am unsure of how to correct the problem in Exim. I do have the following options enabled for Exim.

    1:Add sender rates to the mail log
    2:** Sender Verification

    Cliff Planck
    Do this from the server:

    dig to-domain.com mx

    Post what it shows as a result.

    Mike

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    17

    Default

    ------ The To-domain My Server -----
    [frigga]$ dig pewebhost.com mx

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> pewebhost.com mx
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 37426
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;pewebhost.com. IN MX

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    pewebhost.com. 14400 IN MX 0 pewebhost.com.

    ;; Query time: 102 msec
    ;; SERVER: 208.113.192.17#53(208.113.192.17)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jul 3 06:01:09 2008
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 47
    ---- The Sending Domain ------
    [frigga]$ dig 53.com mx

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> 53.com mx
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 30324
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;53.com. IN MX

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    53.com. 3600 IN MX 10 mailgw5.53.com.
    53.com. 3600 IN MX 10 mailgw7.53.com.
    53.com. 3600 IN MX 10 mailgw3.53.com.

    ;; Query time: 95 msec
    ;; SERVER: 208.113.192.17#53(208.113.192.17)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jul 3 06:05:27 2008
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 96
    All Seems normal and fine for both of the above...

    I'm pretty sure the problem has to do with how the Sending Server Identifies itself..
    IE: F=<prvs=some.name=061d836d0@domain.com>
    The From Field from the log...

    Thanks,
    Cliff

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    91

    Question

    I have the same issue, and wonder if there would be anything to resolve this conflict between sender verification callouts and BATV..

    I'm not keen on switching sender verification callouts off on my servers, they are blocking a LOT of spam, in a load-friendly way...

    Anyone has any ideas on this?

    Maybe I'll have to reconsider callouts after all, and find a better sollution

  5. #5
    Member SageBrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY/CT (US)
    Posts
    386

    Default

    I have not used callouts since the new ACLs went in back in, I think, September.

    Try turning off callouts and just use the default exim ACL's and see how that goes.

    I like the concept of callouts, but it does have it's flaws.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. SMTP senders mail alias
    By compte1234 in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-09-2008, 11:18 AM
  2. Exim is blocking an ip address
    By elleryjh in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2004, 04:14 AM
  3. how to block incoming mail senders?
    By ricardom in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-2004, 07:55 PM
  4. Mail top senders
    By bear in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2003, 10:43 AM
  5. Exim blocking e-mails
    By Trel in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-23-2003, 07:00 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube