Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    50

    Default Open relay but not an open relay?

    Hello,

    to my surprise I got the following alert message from lfd:

    Time: Sat Mar 8 20:34:56 2008
    Type: RELAY, Remote IP - 201.141.15.50 (customer-201-141-15-50.cablevision.net.mx)
    Count: 101 emails relayed
    Blocked: No

    Sample of the first 10 emails:.....

    what lets me think that this server works as open relay (quite fresh standard installation). A test made by abuse.net makes 10 tests and concludes that this server doesn't relay at all.

    Who may I trust more, or what may cause that alter if it isn't an open relay? How to understand this?

    Thanx for hints,

    Edit: For one of the message IDs listed in the alter exim_mainlog shows the following, what I would understand as a TRY to relay, but without success?

    2008-03-08 20:34:04 1JY4nz-0002iK-E2 <= -as@asdrs1.monsanto.com H=(201.141.15.50) [201.141.15.50] P=esmtp S=710 id=000701c88153$02ebc583$33aea2b2@mygcp
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 1JY4nz-0002iL-E2 <= -as@acehardware.com H=(201.141.15.50) [201.141.15.50] P=esmtp S=712 id=000701c88153$017407ca$194b3b84@deswvi
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 1JY4nz-0002iK-E2 => :blackhole: <6d22fd0e@domain.de> R=virtual_aliases
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 1JY4nz-0002iK-E2 Completed
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 1JY4nz-0002iL-E2 => :blackhole: <5u7ltemb@domain.de> R=virtual_aliases
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 1JY4nz-0002iL-E2 Completed
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 no IP address found for host customer-201-141-15-50.cablevision.net.mx (during SMTP connection from [201.141.15.50])
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 no IP address found for host customer-201-141-15-50.cablevision.net.mx (during SMTP connection from [201.141.15.50])
    2008-03-08 20:34:04 no IP address found for host customer-201-141-15-50.cablevision.net.mx (during SMTP connection from [201.141.15.50])
    Last edited by mstuebner; 03-08-2008 at 04:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    98

    Default

    The logs you attach mean that 201.141.15.50 sent two email to two different email addresses on domain.de. If domain.de is a local domain for your server then it is expected behaviour to accept those mail. As for lfd, i don't know the internals of it at the moment to explain why it complains.
    ------
    CPanel Tips and Solutions
    http://www.cphelp.gr
    ------

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Open relay
    By attroll in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 01:03 AM
  2. Open Relay
    By plumas in forum Discusión en Español
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2009, 08:01 PM
  3. Possible open relay
    By aries7 in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 09:29 AM
  4. open relay ?
    By arhs in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-17-2005, 02:19 PM
  5. How do you correctly close an Open Relay? Failed abuse.net mail relay test
    By Vatoloco in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2004, 07:00 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube