Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15

    Default Receiving spam from myself

    hi friends,

    me and my customers are receiving spam from our accounts ....

    example: if my email account is webmaster@abc.com .... i receive a lot of spam from webmaster@abc.com and others @abc.com accounts.

    i have instaled on the server the ConfigServer Security & Firewall - csf v4.29 ... but i really don't know what additional action I must to do.

    i will apreciate any step by step help

    thx a lot

    J

  2. #2
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    7,894
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Lightbulb

    What version of cPanel are you on?
    Fav cPlinks this week: Blog - cPanel & WHM 11.32 we love it! | cPanel University study for it! | Attracta is coming! we want this!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15

    Default

    cPanel 11.24.4-R32470 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 4.7 i686 on standard

    thx

  4. #4
    Member rhenderson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    742

    Default

    Is your email server set to authenticate before SMTP? If not you may have an open relay, check your mailserver at http://www.mxtoolbox.com/

    Other than that someone might have hijacked your email address, look at your headers and see where they are coming from. SPF records does help this somewhat.
    Regards,
    Randy
    Affordable Web Hosting
    _________________________

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Sorry but i don't know how verify if the server set to authenticate before SMTP ......

    one aditional note is some client's ISP must use the smtp ISP's configuration .... if you try to use the smtp configuration of my server (mail.MYDOMAIN.COM) the email can't be sent.

    ok i made a SMTP diagnostics and return this (from : mxtoolbox.com)

    Banner: -matrix.MYDOMAINh1.com ESMTP Exim 4.69 #1 Fri, 19 Dec 2008 09:39:54 -0430 [2266 ms]

    Connect Time: 0.047 seconds - Good
    Transaction Time: 2.531 seconds - Good

    Relay Check: WARNING! Your server could be an open relay.

    Rev DNS Check: OK - NN.NNN.NNN.NNN resolves to MYISP.com

    GeoCode Info: Geocoding server is unavailable
    Session Transcript: HELO please-read-policy.mxtoolbox.com
    220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited, [0 ms]
    MAIL FROM: <test@mxtoolbox.com>
    220 and/or bulk e-mail. [0 ms]
    RCPT TO: <test@mxtoolbox.com>
    250 matrix.MYDOMAINh1.com Hello mxtb-pws1.mxtoolbox.com [64.20.227.131] [47 ms]
    QUIT
    250 OK [172 ms]

    ..... aditional.... THIS IS AN EXAMPLE OF HEADERS (the email was send from webmaster@MYDOMAIN.net to webmaster@MYDOMAIN.net........ additional webmaster@MYDOMAIN.net is a frowarder to webmaster@MYDOMAIN.com)


    Microsoft Mail Internet Headers Version 2.0
    Received: from mail pickup service by MYDOMAIN.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC; Fri, 19 Dec 2008 03:01:05 -0430
    thread-index: Aclhq8B4hzbjTnodTkGSV9O6vNAu/g==
    Return-Path: <webmaster@MYDOMAIN.net>
    Cc:
    Bcc:
    Envelope-to: webmaster@MYDOMAIN.com
    Delivery-date: Thu, 18 Dec 2008 23:15:54 -0800
    Date: Fri, 19 Dec 2008 03:01:05 -0430
    To: <webmaster@MYDOMAIN.net>
    Subject: Re: Order status
    From: <webmaster@MYDOMAIN.net>
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Message-ID: <D85B730C837A4264A4BCDA51C8974618@MYDOMAIN.local>
    Importance: High
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
    Content-Type: text/html;
    charset="iso-8859-1"
    X-Interideas-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information
    X-Interideas-MailScanner-ID: 1LDZaK-0004oD-DN
    X-Interideas-MailScanner: Found to be clean
    X-Mailer: Microsoft CDO for Exchange 2000
    X-Interideas-MailScanner-SpamCheck: not spam (whitelisted),SpamAssassin (not cached, score=46.73, required 5, autolearn=spam,BAYES_99 5.00, DCC_CHECK 2.17, HTML_IMAGE_ONLY_04 2.04,HTML_MESSAGE 0.00, HTML_SHORT_LINK_IMG_1 0.00, MIME_HTML_ONLY 1.46,MISSING_DATE 0.00, MISSING_MID 0.00, RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET 1.96,RCVD_IN_SORBS_WEB 0.62, RCVD_IN_XBL 3.03, SARE_HTML_A_BODY 0.74,SARE_HTML_IMG_ONLY 1.67, URIBL_AB_SURBL 5.00, URIBL_BLACK 1.96,URIBL_JP_SURBL 5.00, URIBL_OB_SURBL 5.00, URIBL_RHS_DOB 1.08,URIBL_SBL 5.00, URIBL_WS_SURBL 5.00)
    X-Interideas-MailScanner-From: webmaster@MYDOMAIN.net
    X-Spam-Status: No
    X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
    X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - matrix.MYDOMAINh1.com
    X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - MYDOMAIN.net
    X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [47 12] / [47 12]
    Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
    Priority: normal
    X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - MYDOMAIN.net
    X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.4325
    X-OriginalArrivalTime: 19 Dec 2008 07:31:05.0523 (UTC) FILETIME=[C0979030:01C961AB]



    .... thanks

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15

    Default

    any idea ???????

    some body ? please ?

  7. #7
    Member rhenderson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    742

    Default

    Many ISP's block port 25 which is most likely the reason the customer has to use thier ISP's SMTP. Open an alternate port to Exim.

    Quote Originally Posted by jotay View Post
    Sorry but i don't know how verify if the server set to authenticate before SMTP ......

    Relay Check: WARNING! Your server could be an open relay.
    This could be caused by not having SMTP authentication set as stated above.

    It is supposed to be enabled by default, not sure how it was turned off. You might drop a support ticket to cPanel support.
    Last edited by rhenderson; 12-22-2008 at 09:01 AM.
    Regards,
    Randy
    Affordable Web Hosting
    _________________________

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Our customers are receiving same emails.

    I checked our server and it doesn't permit relaying, but there emails are still comming.
    You can find the relay check below:

    Code:
    u@www:~$ telnet xx.xx.xx.xx 25
    Trying xx.xx.xx.xx...
    Connected to xx.xx.xx.xx.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    220-xxx.xxxxxxxx.xxx ESMTP Exim 4.69 #1 Wed, 24 Dec 2008 20:35:16 +0200 
    220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited, 
    220 and/or bulk e-mail.
    helo www.xxx.xxxxxxxx.xxx
    250 xxx.xxxxxxxx.xxx Hello xxx.xxxxxxxx.xxx [xx.xx.xx.xx]
    mail from: uasdf@yahoo.com
    250 OK
    rcpt to: vasdf@hotmail.com
    550-xxx.xxxxxxxx.xxx (www.xxx.xxxxxxxx.xxx) [xx.xx.xx.xx] is currently not
    550-permitted to relay through this server. Perhaps you have not logged into
    550-the pop/imap server in the last 30 minutes or do not have SMTP
    550 Authentication turned on in your email client.
    But mxtoolbox.com says "Relay Check: WARNING! Your server could be an open relay. ". I don't know why it is saying this. I tried to send relay mails from different locations and i couln't send mails, system always refsed relaying.

    any idea?

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Receiving too much spam emails on all linux servers.
    By samia in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-14-2010, 09:16 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-28-2009, 10:29 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 03:39 PM
  4. HOWTO: Show the spam score in the subject line of spam taged messages
    By cpanelnick in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-06-2009, 04:08 PM
  5. Spam assassin problem (not receiving mail)
    By aingaranweb in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-08-2007, 07:02 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube