Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    36

    Default XXX is currently not permitted to relay through this server

    Hi guys.

    We are having a problem with Exim :

    One user of one domain is getting the following errors :

    2008-06-25 17:59:30 H=(BARBRAPC) [xxx] F=<xxx@xxx.co.uk> rejected RCPT <xxx@aol.com>: (BARBRAPC) [xxx] is currently not permitted to relay through this server. Perhaps you have not logged into the pop/imap server in the last 30 minutes or do not have SMTP Authentication turned on in your email client.
    Their Mail client gives them a 530 Error - Couldn't send.

    The authentication is 100% correct, as sometimes mails Do send!

    I've also checked /etc/localdomains for their domain - and it's there!

    What could be causing this ?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    inside a catfish
    Posts
    963
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    If you look in /var/log/exim_main and you do not see a fixed_login entry for that individual, then they do not have SMTP Auth enabled. If they do and are using the wrong credentials, you'll see that in the fixed_login line.

    An invalid authentication
    2008-06-22 11:03:08 fixed_login authenticator failed for (localhost.localdomain) [xx.xx.xx.xx]: 501 Authentication cancelled

    An invalid authentication
    2008-06-25 13:25:51 fixed_login authenticator failed for (yourkybtg65gxe) [xx.xx.xx.xx]: 535 Incorrect authentication data (set_id=someotherperson@someotherdomain.com)

    A valid authentication
    2008-06-22 11:29:18 1KARVF-0007TJ-Sx <= someone@somedomain.com H=c-xx-xx-xx-xx.hsd1.or.comcast.net (BILLY) [xx.xx.xx.xx] P=esmtpa A=fixed_login:someone@somedomain.com S=4068 T=""

    Notice all of those lines have 'fixed_login' in them - indicating that some sort of authentication was attempted and either passed or failed for some reason. If you don't see a similar entry during the time that particular email of your client's was sent, then they weren't using SMTP Auth. If you do see a line with 'fixed_login' in it, it should indicate why the authentication failed.

    Also, not only make sure that your client's domain does exist in /etc/localdomains but also that it does not exist in /etc/remotedomains.

    Mike

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    146

    Default

    I have the same problem, but... how can we override this comprobation of the IP address??... I don't want to pass though this comprobation....

    Thanks...
    Evolution Technology Web Hosting Support.
    MSN: webmaster@scqcc.cl

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    146

    Default

    No one knows how to solve this issue?

    I have this problem when I updated exim, mailscanner and clamv.
    (all this day I have this problem).

    1) autentication is fine, the domains CAN receive email.
    2) When a domain send email, appears the error:

    [xxx] F=<xxx@xxx.dot.tld> rejected RCPT <xxx@xxx.dot.tld>: (XXX) [xxx] is currently not permitted to relay through this server. Perhaps you have not logged into the pop/imap server in the last 30 minutes or do not have SMTP Authentication turned on in your email client.

    3) When I add the IP in Main >> Service Configuration >> Exim Configuration Editor... in the ACCESS LISTS >> Whitelist, I CAN SEND EMAIL, but... I don't want this, I will write all the domains-client-email IPs??, impossible, And the ADSLs have dynamic IP address... I disable this options (blacklist and whitelist)... but the problem persists...

    HOW TO FIX THIS???
    Evolution Technology Web Hosting Support.
    MSN: webmaster@scqcc.cl

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    146

    Default

    I find a temp solution but... is not the idea... this happen when I updated all.... (always is the same...)

    put a block of your common Ips in the Whitelist:

    Example:

    200.0.0.0/18
    199.0.0.0/18

    Obviously, put only the trusted and acord to your customer's country. (or where they will use email clients...)

    Any one have other and better fix?
    Evolution Technology Web Hosting Support.
    MSN: webmaster@scqcc.cl

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 11:47 AM
  2. user@server mail 550 relay not permitted.
    By 4u123 in forum New User Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 06:24 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 05:39 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-16-2006, 03:46 AM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube