Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Backup WHM accounts and sites with FTP ?

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default Backup WHM accounts and sites with FTP ?

    It is possible to do a full backup using FTP: WHM accounts + site web files + site Mysql databases ?

    If it's possible, how to do ?

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,289
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by katamiaw View Post
    It is possible to do a full backup using FTP: WHM accounts + site web files + site Mysql databases ?

    If it's possible, how to do ?

    Thanks a lot
    Are you asking about using a FTP client to download, for example, MySQL databases? Or are you asking how you can set WHM to store backups remotely via FTP?

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cPanelDavidG View Post
    Are you asking about using a FTP client to download, for example, MySQL databases? Or are you asking how you can set WHM to store backups remotely via FTP?

    I'm asking for: "how you can set WHM to store backups remotely via FTP"

  4. #4
    Technical Product Specialist cPanelDavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    11,289
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by katamiaw View Post
    I'm asking for: "how you can set WHM to store backups remotely via FTP"
    In WHM, go to Backup and then click on Configure Backup. You can enter the details for the FTP server and how to login to FTP on that screen. You can also set WHM to store backups on the remote server via FTP on this screen.

    This will back up all user settings, files and databases. However, server configurations (e.g. Tweak Settings, EasyApache Profiles) are not backed up with FTP backups.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    The problem is I bought a reseller plan from webhost provider and only them as Admin can have access to backup feature on WHM not us. The host provided us a WHM cpanel but I don't see the backup option on it. They said I have to backup all sites one at a time from cpanel. This is pain in the neck and why can't people design something easier in whm for reseller account holder? Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. WHM FTP Backup skips accounts and stopped working
    By RampantLion in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2006, 08:17 AM
  2. Transfer sites, FTP Backup and Restore
    By nashik in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2005, 02:59 AM
  3. How can I backup Sites and settings to a Remote Ftp?
    By webkar in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-20-2003, 11:46 AM
bargain