Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: bandwidth issues (whats the go?)

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    66

    Default bandwidth issues (whats the go?)

    OK! Yet another bandwidth thread issue....

    Currently viewing the bandwidth usage of the clients on my server and it looks all totally screwed up!

    Looking at the users through the root account, it states as follows

    user1
    Bandwidth Limit: 3.91 Gig (Suppose to be 4GIG)
    Used: 11.74 Meg
    1% used

    user2
    Bandwidth Limit: 3.91 Gig (Suppose to be 4GIG)
    Used: 3.38 Meg
    1% used

    so on and so forth!

    I dont see how 3.38M is 1% of 3.91GIG and i also dont see how 11.74M is 1% of 3.91GIG.
    The stats looks good and all, but it aint spittin anything out correctly.
    Starting to wonder myself now if the bandwidth stats are correct or not.


    EDIT:

    Just logged into cPanel of one of the clients accounts (user1) and it states:
    Bandwidth usage (current month) 25.12 Megabytes

    This is becoming a joke now!
    Last edited by exodux; 10-18-2004 at 02:33 AM.

  2. #2
    Registered Member This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,499

    Default

    Are you running the latest EDGE? IF not, then upgrading might be a good idea since the changelog shows fixes with the bandwdith reporting pages. If you are, then I'd suggest you log it in bugzilla.
    Jonathan Michaelson

    cPanel Server Configuration, Security and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    http://www.configserver.com

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I've upgrade to the latest 'Stable' version.

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I'm seeing something similar. I'm using the latest STABLE build (cpanel 9.9.6), and the root WHM shows that a particular account has used 22.62 GB. The individual user control panel shows a usage of 9274.01 megabytes. (skin tag in use: cpanel Stats="countbandwidth()".

    I'm using cPanel 9.9.6.

    Is there an alternate cPanel tag to use for displaying bandwidth usage in account skins?

  5. #5
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exodux
    OK! Yet another bandwidth thread issue....

    This is becoming a joke now!
    I'll take it easy...since it took me a second to understand.

    firstly, it shows 1% because it's less than 1% and the minimum it'll show is 1%

    Secondly...3000megabyte == 2.93gigabyte

    3 gigabyte == 3 072 megabyte

  6. #6
    cPanel Staff cPanelNick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    4,852

  7. #7
    Registered Member PWSowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    2,991

    Default

    That's why with all my account packages, if the package says it has 10 GB of bandwidth, I make the package so it gives 10240 MB since that is the correct figure. If I entered 10000 for the bandwidth when creating the package, I'd actually be cheating the customer.

    It's complicated to some, but that's how it works.

    When exodux said "Bandwidth Limit: 3.91 Gig (Suppose to be 4GIG)", he means he gave it 4000 MB which is actually 3.90625 GB.


    For anyone, if you create an account and give it 10000 MB, you're not really giving 10 GB. You need to multiply your GB by 1024 to get the proper MB value.
    Mike
    WHM and cPanel Scripts (join our "Scripts Club")
    D/A Photography

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Can you make cpanel report b/w usage for aditional ports?


    and just a little note,
    mega = 1,000,000
    giga = 1,000,000,000
    .. .. ..
    but in 1998 the International Electrotechnical Commission approved a standard.
    mebi = 1,048,576
    gibi = 1,073,741,824

    so i supopose if u sold 100GB not GiB of bandwidth you could argue the point, but it will just anoy your clients. so probably a good idea not to.

    but if any of you know how i can make this monitor aditional ports it would be appreciated.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    49

    Default

    The new bandwidth system is causing the load to hike on my server whenever i open the view bandwidt usage.
    is there a way that i can downgrade back to version 9.7 ?

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5

    Default

    is their any way to fix this issue with the bandwidth with out using the EDGE version i run a live server and dont want to use a not 99% stable version.

Similar Threads

  1. Strange Bandwidth Issues
    By Legin76 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-02-2013, 08:07 AM
  2. Package bandwidth issues
    By apc1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-28-2005, 08:35 PM
  3. Bandwidth Issues?
    By JakReloaded in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 06:06 AM
  4. Bandwidth issues
    By CaseLogic in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2005, 04:05 PM
bargain