Thread: CentOs 4.4 setup question (for centos users)

Registered Member

Question CentOs 4.4 setup question (for centos users)

I used the CentOs 4.4 single server cd version to setup a server, but I found that some tools as gcc are not installed.
    This kinds of things affects cpanel/whm first download/install ?

What do you recommend single server cd version or setup it with the 4 cd sets selecting server workstation for setup or is the same thing?¿

Do you recommend automatic partitioning?
    BTW, i have 2 disk in one will be the OS and Cpanel and the other will be used as /backup for whm backups. My question is the /backup partion has to be set in the os setup?

Sorry for this questions cause Its my first time building up a 2u server and im going to put it in a colocation service. I always used to have dedicated servers with all the things installed

Thanks
    Last edited by bsasninja; 03-22-2007 at 07:10 PM.

Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge

MMM ive used the single server cd before and it's always had gcc installed (must have changed it)

4 disk set use disk 1 only minimal install will work
    I personallly install the txt editors & bind

manually partition
    this is how i do it

/swap 2000 or 2x ram I never go over 4000
    /boot 100
    / all the rest

but how you partition is up to you

the second drive you can mount later
    Lowest Host/Empire Technology LLC
    Affordable hosting solutions http://empire-hosting.net
    List Your hosting site FREE in http://hostgeneration.com

Registered Member

I would put the tmp on different partition so you can secure easily, otherwise you have to create tmp files sytem and need to secure it

cpanel does need gcc and few other development tools, you should have a option to select on the install cd.

hope that helps
    Affordable Linux Server Managament Solution
    http://www.linuxnetworkcare.com/services/cpanel.php