Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member spiff06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    87

    Question cPanel to gmail and back again

    I have a cPanel server (my.server).
    root messages from my.server are sent to a gmail account (me @ gmail.com).
    I set a gmail filter to send messages coming from root @ my.server to user @ domain.com.
    domain.com happens to live on my.server.

    A basic chaining to make sure I receive root mail in all cases.

    However, root mail re-sent through the gmail filter bounces off:

    2005-01-11 04:02:10 1CoHuk-00077F-RJ H=(wproxy.gmail.com) [64.233.184.195] F=<me+caf_user=domain.com@gmail.com> temporarily rejected after DATA: all attempts to verify a sender in a header line deferred
    If I try to forward the message from gmail manually, no problem:

    2005-01-15 09:22:46 1CpopC-0006vJ-2w <= me @ gmail.com H=(wproxy.gmail.com) [64.233.184.199] P=esmtp S=15344 id=7f95d3560501150622276b8ce4@mail.gmail.com
    2005-01-15 09:22:54 1CpopC-0006vN-9I <= me @ gmail.com U=user P=local-bsmtp S=15700 id=7f95d3560501150622276b8ce4@mail.gmail.com
    2005-01-15 09:22:55 1CpopC-0006vN-9I => user <user @ domain.com> R=virtual_user T=virtual_userdelivery
    2005-01-15 09:22:55 1CpopC-0006vN-9I Completed
    but autoforwarders have started failing around the turn of the year.

    I *think* this may be caused by the presence of +caf_user=domain.com in the forwarded mail, but previous messages did not seem to have a problem with it. Is there a way to test whether exim indeed does choke on these (admittedly odd) characters in the sender tag? What else could cause the bounce?

    Thanks,
    Eric

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    529

    Default

    Just some basic things to check up on...

    SPF on or too restrictive?

    Sender Verify enabled?

  3. #3
    Member spiff06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Dropped the ball on this one and coming back to it again now that I have a little more time. Since I haven't resolved the issue yet, I guess that counts as a *BUMP*.

    It seems the _caf is normal: it stands for (Something)AutoForward.

    I'm using APF, but it isn't blocking gmail's server (64.223.184.195).

    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT 13 packets, 1236 bytes)
    num pkts bytes target prot opt in out source
    destination
    1 34879 5861K acctboth all -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
    2 2828 1029K ACCEPT all -- lo * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
    3 0 0 DROP all -- * * 211.204.40.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    4 0 0 DROP all -- * * 211.243.165.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    5 0 0 DROP all -- * * 66.168.23.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    6 0 0 DROP all -- * * 66.12.48.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    7 0 0 DROP all -- * * 213.92.97.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    8 0 0 DROP all -- * * 69.107.9.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    9 2 1332 DROP all -- * * 222.88.173.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    10 0 0 DROP all -- * * 136.145.55.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    11 0 0 DROP all -- * * 63.108.130.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    12 0 0 DROP all -- * * 81.120.43.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    13 0 0 DROP all -- * * 139.55.15.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    14 0 0 DROP all -- * * 139.55.21.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    15 0 0 DROP all -- * * 139.55.99.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    16 0 0 DROP all -- * * 68.15.219.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    17 0 0 DROP all -- * * 211.238.74.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    18 0 0 DROP all -- * * 64.109.68.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    19 0 0 DROP all -- * * 61.152.158.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    20 0 0 DROP all -- * * 61.80.47.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    21 0 0 DROP all -- * * 211.229.108.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    22 0 0 DROP all -- * * 65.113.115.0/24 0.0.0.0/0
    Sender verify is obviously on (but I used to be able to receive mails with
    it turned on).

  4. #4
    Super Moderator This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,495

    Default

    2005-01-11 04:02:10 1CoHuk-00077F-RJ H=(wproxy.gmail.com) [64.233.184.195] F=<me+caf_user=domain.com@gmail.com> temporarily rejected after DATA: all attempts to verify a sender in a header line deferred
    The problem is really in the error. It suggests the problem is with the way gmail is forwarding email since "me+caf_user=domain.com@gmail.com" is not a valid email sender, the sender check fails. Gmail is breaking the rules on mail forwarding by: 1. modifying the email header and 2. doing so with incorrect data - that is not the sender address.

    Two choices:

    1. Disable Sender checks (totally, or hack exim.conf for your domain only).

    2. Report the broken nature of gmail's forwarding to them and gon't use gmail until they fix it.
    Jonathan Michaelson

    Need your cPanel servers secured and tuned?
    cPanel Server Configuration, Security, Recovery and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    Developers of the most effective (and free) Firewall & Security Solution for cPanel Servers - csf
    http://www.configserver.com

  5. #5
    Member spiff06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    87

    Default

    The email format is odd indeed.

    As far as sender existence checks, isn't it somewhat safer to leave them on?

    For now, I can try ticking off the box and see what happens...

    Thanks,
    Eric

  6. #6
    Super Moderator This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,495

    Default

    Absolutely - I'd not disable Sender checking. It guess it just depends how much you want to use the gmail method of forwarding off and back on server.
    Jonathan Michaelson

    Need your cPanel servers secured and tuned?
    cPanel Server Configuration, Security, Recovery and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    Developers of the most effective (and free) Firewall & Security Solution for cPanel Servers - csf
    http://www.configserver.com

  7. #7
    Member spiff06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Well, I suppose I can use a different account to store those messages.

    Just wondering: how difficult would it be to tweak exim to accept a particular mail addressing format, and do so exclusively for mail originating from the gmail server?

    Just thinking aloud here; don't want to encourage anarchy in mail addressing... ;-)

  8. #8
    Super Moderator This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,495

    Default

    Should be relatively straightforward. Feel free to have a read of the ACL information
    http://www.exim.org/exim-html-4.40/d...38.html#CHAP38
    Jonathan Michaelson

    Need your cPanel servers secured and tuned?
    cPanel Server Configuration, Security, Recovery and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    Developers of the most effective (and free) Firewall & Security Solution for cPanel Servers - csf
    http://www.configserver.com

  9. #9
    Member spiff06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Cool, thanks for the link.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Hello,

    I also experience this as reported on one account in my server. They are not receiving mails from one domain which happens to be an important contact. I looked into the mail log and found out the following:

    2007-01-31 05:11:23 1HCDNT-0005ID-0p H=(mail.senderdomain.com) [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] F=<name@senderdomain.com> temporarily rejected after DATA: all attempts to verify a sender in a header line deferred

    Good citizen Chirpy mentioned that either

    Disable Sender checks (totally, or hack exim.conf for your domain only)

    I am interested in the second option. AS I understand, the second option entails editing exim.conf to accomodate senderdomain.com or bypass senderdomain.com from cPanel's Sender Check.

    Any info on which particular line in exim.conf this will be done? It will highly be appreciated.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Hello,

    Since I am getting desperate on this, I disabled/uncheck

    Verify the existence of email senders.

    in WHM under Exim Cofiguration Editor and still the error from an account sending to the server:

    2007-01-31 05:11:23 1HCDNT-0005ID-0p H=(mail.senderdomain.com) [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] F=<name@senderdomain.com> temporarily rejected after DATA: all attempts to verify a sender in a header line deferred

    Any idea on this please?

  12. #12
    Member brianoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,117
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    I'm not sure whether this will help or not, but I'm curious whether changing the sender from gmail may help. You can go into Gmail's Settings -> Accounts and change the default sending account. That just possibly might be enough to get you past the exim checks you're having problems with - then again, it might not help. Worth a stab though.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. cPanel and Gmail
    By adoades in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 10:42 AM
  2. Gmail problem.
    By leftie in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 04:20 PM
  3. CPanel/Gmail
    By cierrahost in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2007, 11:20 PM
  4. Problem with gmail
    By robocap in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-02-2007, 08:17 AM
  5. TTL and Gmail
    By goffy59 in forum New User Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2006, 11:21 AM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube