Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Default error page domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    95
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Default error page domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    Hello,
    i created a custom 404 Page in cPanel(User),
    but if i try to open a non exist subdomain, it redirects me to
    the default page of the server:
    domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    instead of the created custom error page.(from user)

    How can i fix this ?

    thank you

  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    998
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Default error page domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    Are you sure you mean subdomain?
    If the subdomain does not exist you should get an error like this (in chrome):
    "Oops! Google Chrome could not find <youd non-existing subdomain here>"
    quietFinn - netFinn Finland

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    176

    Default Re: Default error page domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    Quote Originally Posted by musti19 View Post
    Hello,
    i created a custom 404 Page in cPanel(User),
    but if i try to open a non exist subdomain, it redirects me to
    the default page of the server:
    domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    instead of the created custom error page.(from user)

    How can i fix this ?

    thank you
    Is this a sub domain that DID exist, and that you accessed, but does not now exist? Then it might just be a cache issue.

  4. #4
    cPanel Staff cPanelMichael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13,869
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Default error page domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    Hello

    The page should not load at all if the subdomain does not exist. A custom 404 would not apply because the subdomain would not exist in the Apache configuration file. You may experience this issue if you have a subdomain that is not created in cPanel, yet resolves to an IP address hosted on the server.

    Thank you.
    cPResources: Support Options - Submit a ticket here - Additional Support Options - Forums Search - Mailing Lists - Documentation - Migration Services - Change Logs
    -- cPanelMichael - Migration Specialist, Technical Analyst, cPanel Technical Support

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-19-2013, 11:21 AM
  2. Subdomain served instead of default cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi
    By lockefaltaba in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2012, 09:36 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-13-2012, 07:49 AM
  4. cname pointing to cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi page
    By lldeepakll in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 11:14 AM
  5. Parked domain redirecting to /cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi
    By GoWilkes in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-13-2011, 01:12 PM
bargain