Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: delete all dns zones

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    347

    Default delete all dns zones

    I have a few servers clustered (dns) and all had "syncrhonize" set to on. However, I notice after adding more accounts, dns functions become slower over time and frustrating for admins and reseller customers with dns privivileges. I wish to have clustered on with standalone only for sake of using only ns1/ns2 for all servers.

    If I deleted every dns zone, would /scripts/rebuildnamedconf re-add all the dns zones only for that particular server (of course after I set the clustered setting to standalone)? Would this work instead of manually checking hundreds of accounts on that box that should have their dns zone retained?

  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    178

    Default

    That just rebuilds named.conf. If you delete the domain.com.db files in /var/named/ they will not be rebuilt by that script. Also creating new named .db files will overwrite all kinds of customizations the customers may have made.

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    347

    Default

    What can I do then to make this a swift process?

    What about "perform dns cleanup"?
    Last edited by Zion Ahead; 12-21-2006 at 05:22 PM.

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    347

    Default

    Something is wrong. I disabled "synchronize" and enabled "standalone" on every box, including main ns1/ns2 box in the cluster. I deleted all dns zones from main box (except domains hosted on those, my sites that is). Now, many clients have notified me that their sites are down, yet named is up. This makes no sense at all.

    Can someone explain why this would happen? Aside standalone being enabled on all boxes, the dns cluster is still also enabled on all the boxes too. This should work.

  5. #5
    Registered Member aralis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Lubbock TX
    Posts
    12

    Default

    If it's not too late, backup all of you zone files first. Then do all the jacking around with named and see if you can get it to where it is working again for a test domain. Then throw your zone files back in /var/named and see if that resolved it. If not, Write down the ones that are not working and what the symptoms are, then see if you can find a trend. Hope that helps.
    Daddy, What does formatting drive c:\ mean?

Similar Threads

  1. DNSMadeEasy - Do I have to delete DNS zones on WHM?
    By sOliver in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 05:10 PM
  2. DNS Cluster, howto delete residual DNS zones
    By sohmi in forum New User Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 05:51 AM
  3. Need to delete all 'DNS Only' Zones
    By MantisComp in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 05:57 AM
  4. WHM Edit/Delete DNS Zones has nothing listed
    By Babylon in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 11:00 AM
  5. Can't delete DNS zones
    By thestick in forum New User Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2006, 07:42 AM
bargain