Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
    Posts
    18
    cPanel Access Level

    Reseller Owner

    Default Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    Hi guys.

    I want to setup the following on my servers:

    1. Facility to check/buy a domain
    2. On successful purchase an option for hosting
    3. cPanel setup


    Options 2 & 3 I can code and have tested. I have them working fine. I will have to tweak them though.

    My problem is the domain purchasing process. I have an ENOM account but my ideal scenario is this:

    • Customer comes to website
    • They choose a domain
    • They register the domain
    • I then create a hosting acocunt for the domain based on their selection


    Suggestions...?

  2. #2
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11,505
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?


  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    US
    Posts
    242
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    Indeed. The best way is to use a script like WHMCS.
    www.PlotHost.com - Professional Web Hosting Solutions
    24/7 Support - 99.9% Real Uptime - 15 Days Money Back
    Shared and Reseller Hosting Plans - Dallas,TX - w/ SSD

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    135
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    Yes, you need automatic billing system like whmcs, hostbill or any other that is affordable to you.
    TronicHost.com : Offshore Web Hosting Provider
    Shared Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Dedicated Servers, Netherlands data center

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    Yes, I'm a happy cPanel and WHMCS customer for many years now. These two work together well
    Do you have an offsite backup of your cPanel/WHM powered websites?
    [+] cPanelAutoBackup.Com - Automated Daily cPanel Backup - Powered by Amazon AWS

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
    Posts
    18
    cPanel Access Level

    Reseller Owner

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    Thanks for that guys. I have WHMCS in the cPanel so can install. Just need a key so I'll have to look at pricing.

    Thus far I can code the following:

    • Check a domain's availability (I'm currently working through the eNom APIs to do this and having some successes)
    • Automatically setup a cPanel account based on which hosting product the customer buys


    If anyone out there has already done this and can help me with the following it would be greatly appreciated:

    • Allow a customer to check a domain
    • Upon succesful domain check take payment
    • Setup and configure cPanel hosting


    Like I mentioned, I actually have the cPanel bit sussed and just need ti link it into the domain purchase etc. but have to get the domain search and purchase flowing before I can setup the hosting of-course.

    Thanks guys.

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    135
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    If you have API key, then its pretty simple but before that you need to install whmcs, configure it..
    TronicHost.com : Offshore Web Hosting Provider
    Shared Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Dedicated Servers, Netherlands data center

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
    Posts
    18
    cPanel Access Level

    Reseller Owner

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    Hi PW

    That means spending money and at this stage I'm not ready to spend on something that's only in development.

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    135
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    You do not need to spend money to configure whmcs. You can use its default setup if you want. All you need to purchase is whmcs license.
    TronicHost.com : Offshore Web Hosting Provider
    Shared Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Dedicated Servers, Netherlands data center

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
    Posts
    18
    cPanel Access Level

    Reseller Owner

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    I know this might sound mad but I'd like to code (or reverse engineer some code) myself.

    My first task is checking the domain availability using eNom's API.

    I can inject the code into a browser but vEnom are not being very helpful and the code I have found doesn't work.

    Any suggestions...?

  11. #11
    cPanel Staff cPanelTristan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    7,611
    cPanel Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    That sounds like a question you might want to post onto a general hosting forum like WHT (webhostingtalk.com) instead. Checking domain availability for registering a domain isn't a function of cPanel at all but part of what domain registrar's provide.

    If eNom's option isn't working, you might also consider checking with a different domain registrar using their API.

    Good luck!
    cPResources: Support Options | More Support Options | Forums Search | cPanel.net Site Search | Mailing Lists(Alt) | Docs
    -- Tristan, Technical Analyst III, Forums Specialist, cPanel Tech Support

    Submit a ticket | Check an existing ticket

  12. #12
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    684

    Default Re: Domain purchase and cPanel Account Setup... How...?

    Quote Originally Posted by Harlequin View Post
    I know this might sound mad but I'd like to code (or reverse engineer some code) myself.

    My first task is checking the domain availability using eNom's API.

    I can inject the code into a browser but vEnom are not being very helpful and the code I have found doesn't work.

    Any suggestions...?
    To me, your reply sounds like:

    - I like to learn how motors work.
    - I have a car.
    - Why can't I understand how the motor works?

    If you like to "code", then you should consider visiting a website like sitepointforums.com or one of the hundreds of "how do I learn PHP" websites you can find with a simple google search.

    There are literally a thousand applications, both free and pay, that can let you register a domain name and setup hosting for it. Do a search on hotscripts.com...

    We are eNom resellers ourselves, and we have several thousand resellers under us who use the eNom API every day with no problems at all. eNom does not help with your coding problems... they provide a working API and it is up to you to learn a programming language that can use it.
    I am an eNom ETP.
    Sign up today if you want an eNom.com domain reseller account from a reliable provider.
    * We now provide support and service to over 3250 happy resellers!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-2011, 07:08 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-09-2009, 02:13 AM
  3. Could i get your help if i purchase Cpanel
    By nvhung in forum Workarounds and Optimization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-20-2006, 03:26 PM
bargain