Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    537

    Default :fail: does not work to stop spoofed returned addresses

    Its intestesting that :fail: does not stop spoofed return mail.

    We have 5 domains constantly being targetting with ridiculous return email addresses.
    :fail: is set on all 5 domains.

    Yet the message is being delivered to the mail queue irregardless of the :fail: setting.

    :fail is supposed to stop anyuser@domain.com and it does but when it is a spoofed return, :fail: is ignored and the message is sent to the mail queue anyway.

    Anyone have any idea why :fail: does not stop these messages?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,880

    Default

    Setting the default address to :fail: should reject all mail to any invalid local user.

    This means that mail will be rejected if the To: address is not a valid local mailbox or forwarder.

    The return address, spoofed or otherwise, is not relevant here.

  3. #3
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Nope, doesnt work.

    When a message arrived from a spoof its, kulkujelkjhrl@domain.com and it does not get rejected. But if the message is sent to the domain with the same user and domain name its rejected by :fail:.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jackie46
    Nope, doesnt work.

    When a message arrived from a spoof its, kulkujelkjhrl@domain.com and it does not get rejected. But if the message is sent to the domain with the same user and domain name its rejected by :fail:.
    What's the To: address in such cases?

  5. #5
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    537

    Default

    An example is to: kulkujelkjhrl@domain.com. domain.com exists on the server but user kulkujelkjhrl does not so what im saying is :fail: does nothing in this instance and its sent to the queue.

    But if i send a message directly to kulkujelkjhrl@domain.com then its rejected.

  6. #6
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    7,894
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    I'm seeing this as well. Got 5 of them this weekend.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Are you sure the messages aren't CC's or BCC's? A message may have headers such as:

    To: nonexistant@domain.com
    Cc: realaddress@domain.com, anotherreal@domain.com


    This would mean that realaddress@domain.com and anotherreal@domain.com would receive the messages, but the To: line would still say nonexistant@domain.com. As to why these messages are going to the queue and not to the mailboxes, I don't know. Perhaps the mailboxes are at their individual quota limits.

  8. #8
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Nope, the are bounces from spammers who used ulkujlkjlkj@myusersdomain.com and its bouncing back to our server because the domains exist here but :fail: does not stop them from piling up in the queue even if they are not being delieverd. They are not being delivered because catch-all is turned off for these domains so it goes to the queue.

  9. #9
    Member WebScHoLaR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    506

    Default

    Using :fail: the email is never accepted into the server. During the initial SMTP negotiation when the senders SMTP server connects to your SMTP server, the sending SMTP server issues a RCPT command notifying your server which email address the email to follow is intended for. Your server then checks whether the recipient email actually exists on your server (a POP3 account, an alias or a catchall alias) and if it does not, it issues an SMTP DENY which terminates the attempt to deliver the email.

    * This saves bandwidth as the email data is never received into your server
    * This saves server resources as the email never has to be processed
    * This complies with the SMTP RFC's because the sending SMTP server receives the DENY command
    * Your server does not send a bounce message (just the DENY command)
    * Your server does not send anything to the sender of the email (i.e. the address in the From: line)
    * The sending SMTP server is responsible for notifying the original sender

    Regards,
    WebScHoLaR

    WebHosting Blog: http://WebScHoLaR.net

  10. #10
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Webscholar, obviously you didnt read and follow the thread. I already said, :FAIL: is set on all 5 domains!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I understand the process but fail does not do a thing to stop spoofed mail. The message always arrives from <>. It is addressed to oiuoiuelruk@domain.com and its accepted even if ;fail: is set on the account. Maybe cpanel should look at their code and fix this issue.

    So, i rewrote the rules and i havent seen a bounce back to a non existant email address since i added the changes. Spoofed mail is now being denied and so is any ridiculous email address sent to the domain in question via :fail:
    Last edited by jackie46; 06-19-2006 at 01:31 PM.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jackie46
    So, i rewrote the rules and i havent seen a bounce back to a non existant email address since i added the changes. Spoofed mail is now being denied and so is any ridiculous email address sent to the domain in question via :fail:
    Would you mind sharing?

    I'd also be interested to see what Chirpy has to say on the matter.

  12. #12
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    7,894
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Lightbulb

    So would I. My guess is it's due to the mail conversion we did a while back. This is a problem. I've just recieved another 5 of them that should have failed.

  13. #13
    Member rpmws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    back woods of NC, USA
    Posts
    1,858

    Default

    I am seeing this. I have bounces in queue that are destined for fake@my_hosted_domain.com and they did not originate from my box. They came in as a bounce and just sit there. It's not a forwarder or anything special. I am also seeing something weird in this way. I forward my nobody, cpanel and root mail to an address I check. In the last week or so I have been getting emails that seem to be for accounts I host. ..ahh scratch that. I looked in the headers just now and can see "postmaster" as a BCC. I think I have a global postmaster forwarder ..but I can't remember where it is
    Just keeping my "eye" on things....
    R. Paul Mathews
    RPMWS - diehard cPanel Nutcase

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rpmws
    I think I have a global postmaster forwarder ..but I can't remember where it is
    /etc/myaliases, quite possibly.

  15. #15
    Member serversphere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    658

    Default

    Wow, great post jackie46. I have a client who has been a victim of this problem for a couple weeks and I never even noticed that the To: address of non-existant@theirdomain.tld should not even be getting through! This is a DEFINITELY a solution that needs to be shared. So glad you posted this! Hoping you post your rewrite as well...

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Convert Default Addresses to :fail:
    By chirpy in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 07:02 PM
  2. Way to defeat spoofed/returned emails in exim?
    By bmcpanel in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-05-2006, 07:02 AM
  3. Are these spoofed email addresses, or has my server been compromised?
    By steveluscher in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-26-2006, 09:20 AM
  4. Webalizer work but AwStats stop to work before 15 days...?
    By x-man in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2005, 10:30 AM
  5. Default address :fail: and returned mail
    By Blue|Fusion in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-24-2005, 03:39 AM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube