Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    656

    Default Help!!! Something very strange

    Hello,

    omen.lithoptix.org, has my ip when i do a tracert and a ping has my ip and nslookup says he is on my name server. He is NOT one of my clients. What do i do? how did this happen?

    root@server100 [~]# nslookup omen.lithoptix.org
    Note: nslookup is deprecated and may be removed from future releases.
    Consider using the `dig' or `host' programs instead. Run nslookup with
    the `-sil[ent]' option to prevent this message from appearing.
    Server: 66.96.228.71
    Address: 66.96.228.71#53

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: omen.lithoptix.org
    Address: 203.45.182.177

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    7

    Default

    If whoever owns that domain puts in your IP, and nameservers, putting in their name will resolve to you.
    almost like they have their phone forwarded to you. They havent taken anything away, other than using your bandwidth.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Strange ....
    By Ramsy in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-19-2005, 01:49 PM
  2. Strange !
    By linux-image in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 02:00 AM
  3. Strange
    By Deltax in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2003, 01:20 PM
  4. strange ls and strange msg
    By Sopos in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2003, 09:50 AM
  5. Something strange
    By Jontxu in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-29-2002, 07:13 AM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube