#1 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2006, 02:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 32
ukagg
Exclamation Hotmail rejecting all the emails.

Hi,

Hotmail is bouncing back all the emails send from one of our server. Any email addressed to any hotmail account is bounced back with following message:-

#######################
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

anyname@hotmail.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM:<postmaster@mispl.com> SIZE=1735:
host mx4.hotmail.com [65.54.244.104]: 550 Command rejected for policy reasons. For troubleshooting information, go to http://postmaster.msn.com
#######################

Any suggestion will be highly appriciated.

Thanks
UKA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2006, 04:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sticky On Internet
Posts: 474
mohit is on a distinguished road
Try a bit searching here

hi,
this issue has been discussed many times recently.
you can search on the forums and check what matches your reason for hotmail rejecting.
try
http://forums.cpanel.net/search.php?searchid=1784706

see ya,
mohit
__________________
Learn atleast A word Daily

6+1 Dedicated Boxes with cPanel...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2006, 03:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
stephenbrown
I have also had issues like this and I cannot find anyone else on the forum bar this thread who has the same trouble like this one:

anyname@hotmail.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM:<postmaster@mispl.com> SIZE=1735:
host mx4.hotmail.com [65.54.244.104]: 550 Command rejected for policy reasons. For troubleshooting information, go to http://postmaster.msn.com

Many Thanks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2006, 04:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
GCIS is on a distinguished road
Did you follow the instructions and visit postmaster.msn.com to troubleshoot the problem?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2006, 08:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
stephenbrown
I have finally got a reply from Hotmail and got the following responce,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotmail
Hi Stephen,

We have identified that messages from your IP (X.X.X.X) are being blocked based on the recommendations of the Symantec Brightmail filter.

The only way to stop this process is to contact Symantec and have them remove the recommendation that your IP be blocked. If you wish to be unblocked by Symantec you must work with Symantec, and not MSN Hotmail. The instructions to do this are below. Please follow these instructions as closely as possible as any deviation will result in delays in resolving your issue.
So im now e-mailing symantec to get myself unblocked!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2006, 01:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 32
ukagg
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbrown View Post
I have finally got a reply from Hotmail and got the following responce
Where did you contacted Hotmail?

Thanks
UKA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2006, 03:37 AM
dafut's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
dafut is on a distinguished road
Use SPF records

One of the suggestions @ the referenced hotmail site is to use SPF records. More and more groups are relying on them.

There's a pretty good wizard at http://old.openspf.org/wizard.html that walks you through setting up the properly formatted text record for your DNS. Even with this wizard, though, it can be confusing. Read carefully. If you're on a VPS, you should probably include the hostname of the sending server as well as the domain of the user.

The more SPF is used, the less attractive special Domain keys being pushed by Yahoo become (see http://www.ahfx.net/weblog.php?article=107).

(SPF == Sender Policy Framework and gives receiving SMTP servers a method of confirming that the sending server is not sending spoofed junk mail by a simple verification method).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 03:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Farnborough, Hampshire (England, UK)
Posts: 12
intuitive
Of course, Hotmail is not complying with the SPF framework... they are rejecting outright mail from domains that do not have an SPF record
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© cPanel Inc