Does anyone else see a big collision happening between this and the big ISPs that want you to use SPF to tell them which server is valid for sending mail for a specific domain. The two anti-spam methods seem mutually exclusive.![]()
-- David
Does anyone else see a big collision happening between this and the big ISPs that want you to use SPF to tell them which server is valid for sending mail for a specific domain. The two anti-spam methods seem mutually exclusive.![]()
-- David
That's one of the main reasons that SPF is such a flawed idea. Also, SPF is not an anti-spam solution, it's purely to try and prevent joe-jobbing and phishing, though rather unsuccessfully.
Jonathan Michaelson
Need your cPanel servers secured and tuned?
cPanel Server Configuration, Security, Recovery and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
Developers of the most effective (and free) Firewall & Security Solution for cPanel Servers - csf
http://www.configserver.com
One thing to remember, if you create a new port for outgoing mail, you may need to have your customers change the default in their anti-virus program. Norton scans outgoing emails but when I created a new port for SMTP and changed it in Outlook, Norton was not scanning the outgoing mail until I manually changed the Norton default.
I am sure this is a problem with cPanel.
Be nice to see others imput.
We have hosted all of our customers websites on a few different servers over the years, and only since we have been using cPanel have our customers, and myself been experiencing this email problem.
Now we have never had this problem before.
We used to have our sites hosted at a hosting reseller who had cPanel, but recently changed locations and have our own dedicated servers with cPanel again, but like I said before using cPanel we never had this email issue.
The issue
When someone sends me an email and I click reply I get an error saying the email could not be sent. But if I click in my address box or type them an email and add their email they get it. It's just when I reply to a person.
This happens to me th eodd time, and also is happening to a number of my customers????????
I also have been having this problem on two computers. It appears to be a bug in Outlook. If you click the "check names" button before you send the email, the problem is solved. It seems that once in a while Outlook does do something that it should and it sends the email with the physical real name of the person verses the email addresses even though both may show up in the email address line.
Another bug I have with Outlook is once in a while an email just wont leave the outbox. Resending it does not work. However, if I drag it into the inbox and then resend it, it goes.
Thanks uncle Bill!
I've seen this. Quite annoying. But luckily my users seem to have learned (after calling several times) to try restarting Outlook and/or rebooting. This usually resolves the issue for them, without having to call me. And, it also helps point out that the problem is on their end, not the server.Originally Posted by jrf
brian
Hi i am having issues with sending emails to freeserve and wanadoo customers from my box it seems that they do not use mx records for their domains does anyone have a solution to send email to their customers all the mail sits in our queue saying lookup did not complete we can recieve from them but not reply we are recieving quite alot of people complaining that we do not reply to emails
Thanks
Swampy
Last edited by swampy; 06-12-2005 at 03:36 AM.
Finding it somewhat hard to believe that the ISP Freeserve/Wanadoo don't use MX records (how on earth do they expect mail for their domains to get to the right place?) I thought I'd check.
dnsstuff.com MX check for wanadoo.co.uk:
The same happens for freeserve.co.uk. This is odd.How I am searching:
Searching for wanadoo.co.uk MX record at i.root-servers.net [192.36.148.17]: Got referral to NSA.NIC.uk. [took 6 ms]
Searching for wanadoo.co.uk MX record at NSA.NIC.uk. [204.74.112.44]: Got referral to pridns1.svr.pol.co.uk. [took 617 ms]
Searching for wanadoo.co.uk MX record at pridns1.svr.pol.co.uk. [195.92.193.4]: Reports that no MX records exist. [took 89 ms]
Answer:
No MX records exist for wanadoo.co.uk. [Neg TTL=14400 seconds]
I have to admit that, regardless of this oddity, I haven't had any problems sending mail from my server to wanadoo.
Would anyone care to shed any light on the situation? How may it be that there are no MX records for these domains? What strange system might they be using instead?
I think when you send email it uses the A record and not mx records but my server will not do that I do not understand y mine will not send to the A record
They also have dns issues as wellfrom DNS report
ERROR: I couldn't find any MX records for wanadoo.co.uk. If you want to receive E-mail on this domain, you should have MX record(s). Without any MX records, mailservers should attempt to deliver mail to the A record for wanadoo.co.uk. I can't continue in a case like this, so I'm assuming you don't receive mail on this domain.
I called wanadoo and they said thay have no problems with email so it must be my server I have also contacted their host planet.net.uk but as yet have not had a reply.
Swampy
Last edited by swampy; 06-12-2005 at 04:05 AM.
Chirpy has fixed my problem they were blocked by apf for some reason but it still does not explain why they have no mx records
Thanks for your help
Swampy
If you ask nicely, SBC/Yahoo! will disable the port 25 block on a per-account basis. Just call the technical support phone number or drop on by the one of the following forums...
SBC Midwest - Ameritech
SBC - Pacbell and Nevada Bell
SBC - Southwestern Bell
SBC Northeast - SNET
And ask how you can get in touch with one of the SBC/Yahoo! techs that roam the forums on Broadband Reports.
Tom Parkison – Rochen Ltd. – tom@rochen.com
- Reseller Plans & Multiple Domain Solutions
- http://www.rochen.com
I said this when I first saw this 2 years ago. Blocking a port will not stop spammers in any way.
The idiot who announced it as an industry plan against spam last year at whatever nerd gathering that made this method popular at corporate levels is just that.
The best spam checker that hasn't been implemented in any form would be a spell checker. As its random crap in the mails that is getting the mail through today's filters. Throw a spell checker on there and set it to 10-15% of the words being mispelled and you got an awesome spam block when combined with the other blocks.
For the most part Blocking China seems to have the best effect in stopping spam right at the firewall.
Donny J Lairson
http://www.gunmuse.com
He who laughs last thinks the slowest.
THanks guys that looks like it helped me too....
search keywords:
Rogers Cable Internet Canada
Exim
SMTP Connect
Most ISPs that block port 25 (because of spam issues) enable port 587. Try changing your outgiong mail port to that.
I've only just come across this thread and am experiencing exactly the same problem.
Can anyone shed some light onto this to clarify what i need to do to resolve the problem.
Thanks.
Hi i am having issues with sending emails to freeserve and wanadoo customers from my box it seems that they do not use mx records for their domains does anyone have a solution to send email to their customers all the mail sits in our queue saying lookup did not complete we can recieve from them but not reply we are recieving quite alot of people complaining that we do not reply to emails
Thanks
Swampy
Finding it somewhat hard to believe that the ISP Freeserve/Wanadoo don't use MX records (how on earth do they expect mail for their domains to get to the right place?) I thought I'd check.
dnsstuff.com MX check for wanadoo.co.uk:
The same happens for freeserve.co.uk. This is odd.
I have to admit that, regardless of this oddity, I haven't had any problems sending mail from my server to wanadoo.
Would anyone care to shed any light on the situation? How may it be that there are no MX records for these domains? What strange system might they be using instead?
Last edited by ausloki; 10-31-2005 at 06:48 PM.