I'd like some advice in identifying just what might be going on here. For the past few days I have been receiving a lot of bounced emails that look like they were sent to 3rd parties with the "from" address spoofed as postmaster@oneofmyserversdomains.com. The only thing these domains have in common is that they are hosted on the same server - Linux/WHM. At first I thought perhaps the contact forms on some osCommerce sites had been used to send spam so I am adding some safeguards to those and new mod security rules found here and around. However, not all of these sites have a contact form. I've had my own address spoofed before but I am curious as to why/how this time it would involve all these domains from my server. Does this sound like a particular attack of some sort? The only two places these addresses are found together are on the server and my own box. I can't find anything active on either. Some of these bounce-backs are carrying W32/Sober.AD-mm and similar, but most are just a failure bounce from an attempt to email dozens of addresses that don't exist. Does this sound familiar to anyone?
David



LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks
Reply With Quote




