Sometime between Tuesday and Saturday, my server was blocked by AOL from sending e-mail to its users. If anybody I host tries to send mail to an aol address, they receive an error stating that due to too much spam they won't accept e-mails from my server/domains. They are also linked to:
http://postmaster.info.aol.com/ors.html
where I can test for open relays. The problem is that it says it will send an e-mail to "postmaster@IPaddress" and "root@IPaddress" with the results of the test, but then I try to send email to root@[MyServerIP] and postmaster@[MyServerIP] and it doesn't go through and get the error "550 <postmaster@[my server ip]>... Host unknown (Name server: [my server ip]: host not found)" So...
I *tried* modifying exim.conf by uncommenting "local_domains_include_host_literals"
# If you want to accept mail addressed to your host's literal IP address, for
# example, mail addressed to "user@[111.111.111.111]", then uncomment the
# following line, or supply the literal domain(s) as part of "local_domains"
# above.
local_domains_include_host_literals
but would get a "Exim configuration error" on exim.conf when I tried restarting exim
Before submiting my server's IP to that AOL page, I disabled (again!..damn updates!) all the formmail scripts in the cgi-sys/ dir.
I tested for open relays on my server at:
http://www.email-test.com/cgi-bin/we...show_openrelay
as suggested by tAzMaNiAc in this post:
http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread....0634#post47834
but the results say there are no open relays.
I came across this post regarding /scripts/upcp:
http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread....=1849#post7589
but my CPanel is up-to-date...plus that post is from last Dec.
I *tried* adding "receiver_verify" to my exim.conf as mentioned here:
http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread....0634#post47833
but would get a "Exim configuration error" on exim.conf when I tried restarting exim
I changed the elapsed time for smpt authentication as mentioned here:
http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread....0098#post61755
So I submitted my IP and hoped that the little I did manage to do would solve the problem w/ spammers using my server, but seeing how I woudln't be getting the e-mail AOL sends out, I'd just have to wait 24 hrs to see if I can e-mail to AOL once again....
Well...that was over 36hrs ago and still can't send mail to aol.
Take in mind that I searched for "formmail" in the files exim_rejectlog, exim_mainlog, and apache's access_log and the only ones it finds are in May 19 (1 hit) and July 25 (2 hits).
Is there something I'm missing to make sure my server's aren't being used to spam exploiting open relays or by other means?
How can I allow email to be sent to root@[MyServerIP] and postmaster@[MyServerIP] ? Just uncommenting local_domains_include_host_literals would give me erros. I want to at least know why AOL's blocking e-mails.
Or......did i do things right (unlikely) and just have to wait till AOL actually un-lists my server from their blacklist?
Any help/suggestions would be highly appreciated,
Thanks!
majik
cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:



LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks
Reply With Quote

. I already had RDNS and removed formmail a long time ago. At any rate, the issue was resolved within 48 hrs of my call. Give it a try.




