Thread: Possible? 1 cPanel per domain on shared host account?

Default Possible? 1 cPanel per domain on shared host account?

Hello,

disclaimer: I am a newbie. I have searched on this forum and could not find a thread that provided an answer to what I was searching for - so here I ask...

I have 6 domain names I registered with godaddy. 1 of the domain names will represent my enterprise (parent company) that will NOT sell products, the other 5 will represent DBAs (child businesses) that will sell products.

I have never created a website before - so all is new to me.

Well, I found a hosting company and obtained a shared hosting account (my thoughts are if traffic goes up - I will migrate the site to a more robust hosting package - like dedicated hosting).

I chose one of the my domains that will sell products (a child business) since I thought it would be a good idea to develop the site for the domain that would be more complex versus the parent company's site.

I originally thought I would get 1 host account per domain (I thought that was the way it all worked). Then I discovered that you can "Addon" domains through the cPanel front end interface and that has led to a few observations and questions.

1. If I "Addon" domains to my existing host account - it allows me to develop the sites without the added expense of separate host accounts. This sounds great, but I have read a few threads that indicate Addons domains may be a little shaky, etc. Should I be concerned about this?

2. Since I created a host account for one of my child domains first, the parent company would now be a domain of the child - this is backwards in my mind and I would prefer to reverse the two. Is that possible? In other words, I would prefer to have the parent company as the host account, and the child business as Addon domains - just seems like a better way to do it.