Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default Possible open relay

    Hello.
    I am receiving messages since fake account of my domain, by example ghtrs@mydomain.com jgyfds@mydomain.com, jfgtjjk@mydomain.com, etc.
    Testing by telnet mail.mydomain.com i verified that can send using fake account to other servers how Gmail account.
    I have not modified anything in exim.
    How to avoid sent using false accounts from my domain?

    I test my mail server with http://www.abuse.net/relay.html and it indicates to me
    Relay test 6
    >>> RSET
    <<< 250 Reset OK
    >>> MAIL FROM:<spamtest@mydomain.com>
    <<< 250 OK
    >>> RCPT TO:<securitytest%abuse.net@mydomain.com>
    <<< 250 Accepted

    Relay test result
    Hmmn, at first glance, host appeared to accept a message for relay

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    174

    Default

    I have the same problem:

    Connecting to lanets.net for registered user test ...
    <<< 220-server1.la-nets.com ESMTP Exim 4.52 #1 Fri, 05 Jan 2007 19:54:57 -0600
    <<< 220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited,
    <<< 220 and/or bulk e-mail.
    >>> HELO www.abuse.net
    <<< 250 server1.la-nets.com Hello www.abuse.net [208.31.42.77]


    Relay test 1
    >>> RSET
    <<< 250 Reset OK
    >>> MAIL FROM:<spamtest@abuse.net>
    <<< 250 OK
    >>> RCPT TO:<webmaster@lanets.net>
    <<< 250 Accepted
    >>> DATA
    <<< 354 Enter message, ending with "." on a line by itself
    >>> (message body)
    <<< 250 OK id=1H30lt-0002Hi-W5

    Relay test result
    Hmmn, at first glance, host appeared to accept a message for relay.
    THIS MAY OR MAY NOT MEAN THAT IT'S AN OPEN RELAY.

    Some systems appear to accept relay mail, but then reject messages internally rather than delivering them, but you cannot tell at this point whether the message will be relayed or not.

    If it is really an open relay, the test message will be delivered to you. If you do not receive the test message in your e-mail in the next few hours, it IS NOT an open relay.

    Can anyone help?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    63

    Exclamation

    Howdy,

    This is certainly an issue. I just spent a month going back and forth with AOL and such as mail was being marked at AOL as spam by my IP. After working with Mail Administrators and then doing some testing my server to is an Open Relay Source.

    I am trying to figure out where in EXIM I can turn off relaying other than local IP or domains.

    See Below
    ------------------------------------
    220-host.myserver.comESMTP Exim 4.63 #1 Wed, 07 Feb 2007 17:52:08 -0500
    220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited,
    220 and/or bulk e-mail.
    mail from: cje2@aol.com
    250 OK
    rcpt to: whoever@hotmail.com
    250 Accepted
    --------------------------------

    I am not familiar with the EXIM Configurator, but I did some reviews of the Advanced Editor and found the following:

    # The use of your host as a mail relay by any host, including the local host
    # calling its own SMTP port, is locked out by default. If you want to permit
    # relaying from the local host, you should set
    #
    # host_accept_relay = localhost

    Now this is in the gray area of the advanced editor and the # makes it a comment and not an action. Where can I make this an action? I was looking at EXIM and now I see a new area for ACL's.

    Thanks,
    Craig M.
    Regards,
    Craig M.
    WHM/cPanel user since 2003

  4. #4
    Super Moderator This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,495

    Default

    If you're running an unmodified exim configuration it won't be an open relay. Just because it says that an email is accepted does not mean the email has been relayed. To check that you need to look in your exim_mainlog to see what exim did with the mail.
    Jonathan Michaelson

    Need your cPanel servers secured and tuned?
    cPanel Server Configuration, Security, Recovery and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    Developers of the most effective (and free) Firewall & Security Solution for cPanel Servers - csf
    http://www.configserver.com

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Open relay
    By attroll in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 01:03 AM
  2. Open Relay
    By plumas in forum Discusión en Español
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2009, 08:01 PM
  3. Open relay but not an open relay?
    By mstuebner in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 03:08 PM
  4. open relay ?
    By arhs in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-17-2005, 02:19 PM
  5. How do you correctly close an Open Relay? Failed abuse.net mail relay test
    By Vatoloco in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2004, 07:00 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube