Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Community Notice
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    Default Remote mailserver stops email. 553 5.0.0 This message may contain the Sobig.F virus.

    Hello Guys,

    I´ve made one post here earlier with splendid results. This is a similiar thread.

    My first problems involved my server not being registered for nslookup. Today it is and i am managing the zone myself.

    However, now when sending email to another domain the mailserver responds like this:


    This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

    A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

    xxx@xxx.com
    SMTP error from remote mailer after end of data:
    host mail.ppp.de [193.141.101.33]: 553 5.0.0 This message may contain the Sobig.F virus.

    ------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

    Return-path: <xxx@xxx.se>
    Received: from [195.163.5.55] (helo=digitexhhbecfl)
    by villamedusa.nu with esmtp (Exim 4.34)
    id 1Bd6br-00012D-IG
    for xxx@xxx.com; Wed, 23 Jun 2004 14:12:11 +0200
    From: "Daniel Eriksson" <xxx@xxx.se>
    To: <xxx@xxx.com>
    Subject: RE:
    Date: Wed, 23 Jun 2004 14:11:51 +0200
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
    boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0012_01C4592C.07D61440"
    X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook, Build 11.0.5510
    Thread-Index: AcRZGQZrtUD2aftOR+q1lpk/WcE1NwAAjL4w
    X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106
    In-Reply-To:
    X-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information
    X-MailScanner: Found to be clean

    This is a multi-part message in MIME format.


    My question, is this related to our internal network being nat´d though it is a public network with public ip´s?
    I would like this:

    Received: from [195.163.5.55] (helo=digitexhhbecfl)

    changed to this in the emailheader:
    Received: from [publicipofmailserver] (helo=mailserverdomain)

    How is that done? I mean is it really necessary to attach info on relayer´s ip in the email?

    I´m Using:
    WHM 9.4.0 cPanel 9.4.0-R21
    Fedora - WHM X v3.1.0
    Exim4 with spamasassin and viruscontrol

  2. #2
    Super Moderator This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,495

    Default

    A few issues here:

    1. The delivery failure is quite clear:
    This message may contain the Sobig.F virus
    2. The Received: headers should contain the routing information of the email on each step of its delivery including identifying the relay servers IP address - that's part of the SMTP RFC821:
    When an SMTP server receives a message for delivery or further
    processing, it MUST insert trace ("time stamp" or "Received")
    information at the beginning of the message content, as discussed in
    section 4.1.1.4.

    This line MUST be structured as follows:

    - The FROM field, which MUST be supplied in an SMTP environment,
    SHOULD contain both (1) the name of the source host as presented
    in the EHLO command and (2) an address literal containing the IP
    address of the source, determined from the TCP connection.
    So, I'm not sure what it is you want to achieve.
    Jonathan Michaelson

    Need your cPanel servers secured and tuned?
    cPanel Server Configuration, Security, Recovery and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    Developers of the most effective (and free) Firewall & Security Solution for cPanel Servers - csf
    http://www.configserver.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Originally posted by chirpy
    A few issues here:

    1. The delivery failure is quite clear:


    2. The Received: headers should contain the routing information of the email on each step of its delivery including identifying the relay servers IP address - that's part of the SMTP RFC821:

    So, I'm not sure what it is you want to achieve.
    Hello Jonathan,
    I am unable to send email to this specific host. And I have no idea why it says Sobig.F I made checks and the computer is clean.

    D.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator This forum account has been confirmed by cPanel staff to represent a vendor. chirpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Go on, have a guess
    Posts
    13,495

    Default

    That is odd. It then sounds like a configuration problem on the other server (mail.ppp.de). You might need to contact them through other means to find out why ther are bouncing your email.
    Jonathan Michaelson

    Need your cPanel servers secured and tuned?
    cPanel Server Configuration, Security, Recovery and Antivirus/AntiSpam Services
    Developers of the most effective (and free) Firewall & Security Solution for cPanel Servers - csf
    http://www.configserver.com

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    610

    Default

    Originally posted by daniel.eriksson

    I am unable to send email to this specific host. And I have no idea why it says Sobig.F I made checks and the computer is clean.
    Was the original email that contained the virus actually sent from your mail server?

    The From: in the original email could have been spoofed and the host receiving the email is simply returning it to the From: address.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Originally posted by goodmove
    Was the original email that contained the virus actually sent from your mail server?

    The From: in the original email could have been spoofed and the host receiving the email is simply returning it to the From: address.
    It is actually me trying to send the email. And there are no virusinfections on my pc. In other words, it has to be a setting on the receivers host that is wrong.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Subdomain Remote Mailserver setup
    By Snowman30 in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-25-2005, 10:41 PM
  2. Dictionary attack and remote mailserver problem
    By the_techs in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2005, 06:00 PM
  3. Support in German: Mailserver funktioniert nicht (Mailserver doesn't work)
    By COOLover in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 08:02 AM
  4. Block bounced/returned messages from SoBig virus
    By XPerties in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2003, 06:20 PM
  5. Mail filters not working correctly (SoBig Virus bouces)
    By hostultra in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-03-2003, 03:38 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube