Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default Return path a email headers

    Hello all,

    I have some contact forms in PHP in my dedicated server, but the emails sent throught this contact forms are being marked as SPAM by Gmail. I will put the headers here:

    Code:
    Delivered-To: danny@ingeniarte.com
    Received: by 10.100.198.8 with SMTP id v8cs97090anf;
            Tue, 15 May 2007 20:00:29 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.70.21.8 with SMTP id 8mr12698869wxu.1179284429313;
            Tue, 15 May 2007 20:00:29 -0700 (PDT)
    Return-Path: <nobody@server.hostromo.com>
    Received: from server.hostromo.com (242.237.36.72.static.reverse.layeredtech.com [72.36.237.242])
            by mx.google.com with ESMTP id i11si15578635wxd.2007.05.15.20.00.29;
            Tue, 15 May 2007 20:00:29 -0700 (PDT)
    Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 72.36.237.242 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of nobody@server.hostromo.com)
    Received: from nobody by server.hostromo.com with local (Exim 4.63)
    	(envelope-from <nobody@server.hostromo.com>)
    	id 1Ho9kZ-0002yK-03
    	for danny@ingeniarte.com; Tue, 15 May 2007 22:00:27 -0500
    To: danny@ingeniarte.com
    Subject: Contacto desde Ingeniarte.com
    Content-type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
    Reply-To: danny@ingeniarte.com
    X-Mailer: PHP/5.2.1
    From: danny@ingeniarte.com
    Message-Id: <E1Ho9kZ-0002yK-03@server.hostromo.com>
    Date: Tue, 15 May 2007 22:00:27 -0500
    X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
    X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - server.hostromo.com
    X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - ingeniarte.com
    X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [99 32002] / [47 12]
    X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - server.hostromo.com
    X-Source: 
    X-Source-Args: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL 
    X-Source-Dir: ingeniarte.com:/public_html
    
    
    Contacto desde Ingeniarte.com
    Nombre: Danny
    Email: danny@meiler.com
    Comentario: Hey this is a test message.
    Can anyone tell me what is wrong with my headers that gmail is marking the mails as SPAM? Even if I tell Gmail that this is not SPAM, it is still sending the mails to the spam box.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    472

    Default

    Add SPF record to your domain and setup reverse dns for your main shared IP of the server.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Umm.... how do I do that? Any link with info? I've been looking on the net, but I wasnt able to find any good explanation. By the way, thanks for your help!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Ok, I just sent a ticket to my provider about the reverse DNS. But I am pretty much confused about the SPF record. How do I configure that one?

    Thanks guys!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sticky On Internet
    Posts
    555

    Default

    hi,
    More info on spf record is available at http://www.openspf.org/

    mohit
    Learn atleast A word Daily

    7+1 Dedicated Boxes with cPanel...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Ok, I added the reverse DNS and they are working fine. Also the SPF is being aproved by Gmail (Received-SPF: pass), but the messages are still being sent to the spam box:

    Here is the current message:

    Code:
    Delivered-To: danny@ingeniarte.com
    Received: by 10.100.198.8 with SMTP id v8cs339655anf;
            Thu, 17 May 2007 20:29:00 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.90.73.7 with SMTP id v7mr1278965aga.1179458937844;
            Thu, 17 May 2007 20:28:57 -0700 (PDT)
    Return-Path: <nobody@server.hostromo.com>
    Received: from server.hostromo.com (ns1.hostromo.com [72.36.237.242])
            by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 39si3382574agb.2007.05.17.20.28.57;
            Thu, 17 May 2007 20:28:57 -0700 (PDT)
    Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of nobody@server.hostromo.com designates 72.36.237.242 as permitted sender)
    Received: from nobody by server.hostromo.com with local (Exim 4.63)
    	(envelope-from <nobody@server.hostromo.com>)
    	id 1Hot9D-00008O-Mj
    	for danny@ingeniarte.com; Thu, 17 May 2007 22:28:55 -0500
    To: danny@ingeniarte.com
    Subject: Contacto desde Ingeniarte.com
    Content-type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
    Reply-To: danny@ingeniarte.com
    X-Mailer: PHP/5.2.1
    From: danny@ingeniarte.com
    Message-Id: <E1Hot9D-00008O-Mj@server.hostromo.com>
    Date: Thu, 17 May 2007 22:28:55 -0500
    X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
    X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - server.hostromo.com
    X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - ingeniarte.com
    X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [99 32002] / [47 12]
    X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - server.hostromo.com
    X-Source: 
    X-Source-Args: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL 
    X-Source-Dir: ingeniarte.com:/public_html
    
    
    Contacto desde Ingeniarte.com
    Nombre: pedrito
    Email: danny@meiler.com
    Comentario: Holas!!!
    This is driving me nuts. This is insane, even if I have danny at ingeniarte.com in my contact list, its still being marked as spam. Any ideas?
    Last edited by Heritz; 05-17-2007 at 10:45 PM.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bharat
    Posts
    232
    cPanel/Enkompass Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    I checked it here http://www.kitterman.com/spf/validate.html for your domain ingeniarte.com and it said:

    SPF records are published in DNS as TXT records. No TXT records found for your domain.
    Vinayak Sharma
    Vinsar.Net - Quality WebHosting Services at Economical Price USA, UK & Italian Servers
    Book Your Domain with Confidence Reliable Domain Reseller Account

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Yeah, but Gmail is still accepting my server:

    Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of nobody@server.hostromo.com designates 72.36.237.242 as permitted sender

    So, why is it marking everything as spam? Please help, I don't have any clue about whats going on in here.

    Even the cpanel emails are being marked as spam now.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 11:01 PM
  2. How do I set the Return-Path, etc mail headers via PHP?
    By simpleupdates in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 03:01 PM
  3. I need help with the email Return-Path my servers
    By dianaward in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 10:02 PM
  4. Email Return-Path, return-path problems with email address
    By silvernetuk in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-21-2003, 05:29 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube