Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Show PHP Version in cpanel

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default Show PHP Version in cpanel

    Hi,

    I have just install cpanel on a new server and when I look at the general server information panel on the cpanel main page the field where the PHP version is usually show is blank.

    I have tested and know that PHP is working fine on the box. The box information is below

    General server information:

    Operating system
    Linux
    Service Status
    Click to View
    Kernel version
    2.4.27-3t
    r
    Machine Type
    i686
    Apache version
    1.3.33 (Unix)
    PERL version
    5.8.6
    Path to PERL
    /usr/bin/perl
    Path to sendmail
    /usr/sbin/sendmail
    Installed Perl Modules
    Click to View
    PHP version
    <--Empty
    MySQL version
    4.0.24-standard
    cPanel Build
    10.2.0-RELEASE 82
    Theme cPanel
    X v2.5.0
    Documentation
    Click to View

    The only reason that I can think of is that PHP was installed as an apache module rather than standalone and I need to tel cpanel where to find php information but I haven't a clue where to do that.

    Any help is greatly appriceated.

  2. #2
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge AndyReed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,222

    Default

    Did you recompile Apache and include any major Php modules?
    Are there any errors when trying to execute a Php script? Did you check the log files for errors?
    Andy Reed
    CCNA, RHCE, and Ubuntu Technologist
    ServerTune.com

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    106

    Exclamation PHP Version Blank

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyReed
    Did you recompile Apache and include any major Php modules?
    Are there any errors when trying to execute a Php script? Did you check the log files for errors?
    Even while Building Apache it says "Upgrading PHP version to" and then won't tell you. All Cpanels show nothing there for PHP. I've tried every version of PHP. The strange thing is some things work and some don't.

    Could this be a file permissions issue?

  4. #4
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge AndyReed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PanelGuy
    Even while Building Apache it says "Upgrading PHP version to" and then won't tell you. All Cpanels show nothing there for PHP. I've tried every version of PHP. The strange thing is some things work and some don't.
    What do you get when executing this command at the prompt: php -v
    Andy Reed
    CCNA, RHCE, and Ubuntu Technologist
    ServerTune.com

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    106

    Exclamation 4.3.11 Even though it should be 5.0.4

    4.3.11 even though I explicitly told Apache to build with 5.04 because we are using the new MySQLi.

    Any ideas why my Apache build is doing this?

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    106

    Exclamation PHP not woprking as a Module

    I finally figured out why it won't show a version. It's not installing as a module. I even removed checks on:
    - PHP suEXEC Support
    - Reset Apache Config to Default (last resort)
    - Skip Apache Build if up to date

    And no dice, what gives?

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    106

    Exclamation Solution

    Ok, well the solution I used was to build my own PHP. Although after I do it, WHM overwrites it, but it wouldn't install it the first tiem by itself.

    Either way, it still will not work as a Module in Apache. No idea why not.

  8. #8
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    52

    Default I have just fixed exactly the same problem ;)

    execute this command as root:

    /scripts/upcp

    this will fix it

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    106

    Exclamation PHP 5 Hiding from the Law!

    ope, that didn't work for me until I compiled my own and then, suddenly WHM was appy to overwrite it. Nwo it showws up fine BUT:

    Im using 1.3.4 and PHP 5.0.4, I made my own PHP, no problem.

    Sites dont' show it. Ok, let WHM build Apache and rebuild my PHP. OK, still no love.
    Eyeing at the hammer....

    It does a version check fine from SSH2, so it's there, but it doesn't seem to do anything on the web. Not even simple phpinfo.php files.

    Any clues whatsoever? Some small thing I have mised?

    I made sure I ran Zend, newest vesion, etc.

    It's Fedora Core 4
    Upgraded to Current.

  10. #10
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PanelGuy
    ope, that didn't work for me until I compiled my own and then, suddenly WHM was appy to overwrite it. Nwo it showws up fine BUT:

    Im using 1.3.4 and PHP 5.0.4, I made my own PHP, no problem.

    Sites dont' show it. Ok, let WHM build Apache and rebuild my PHP. OK, still no love.
    Eyeing at the hammer....

    It does a version check fine from SSH2, so it's there, but it doesn't seem to do anything on the web. Not even simple phpinfo.php files.

    Any clues whatsoever? Some small thing I have mised?

    I made sure I ran Zend, newest vesion, etc.

    It's Fedora Core 4
    Upgraded to Current.
    Then try with /scripts/upcp --force

  11. #11
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge AndyReed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dchepishev
    Then try with /scripts/upcp --force
    This won't fix the problem. You need to compile Php, manually, separate from Apache, and include all the modules you need. Watch for errors while compiling Php. When completed successfully, restart Apache.
    Last edited by AndyReed; 10-28-2005 at 04:50 PM.
    Andy Reed
    CCNA, RHCE, and Ubuntu Technologist
    ServerTune.com

  12. #12
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    106

    Exclamation Compiling PHP

    Andy is right. you have to compile your own PHP and I can tell you, it's no walk in the park. I've been working at it for almsot 3 days.

Similar Threads

  1. cpanel show wrong MySQL version
    By shopcentar in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-20-2007, 08:06 PM
  2. Show Cpanel Service Status On External PHP Page
    By Drewley in forum cPanel Developers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-12-2007, 06:34 AM
  3. cPanel not show php version
    By IberHosting in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 04:22 PM
  4. cpanel show wrong php version.
    By [ah] phu in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2005, 05:57 AM
bargain