Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sombody is emailing from my server as NOBODY!

  1. #1
    ozzi4648
    Guest

    Default Sombody is emailing from my server as NOBODY!

    Ok, well just another major bug to add to the literally 30 or 40.

    Somebody was sending out email from my server as nobody@srv08.primenet.cc with the option checked under tweeks. How come?

    2003-03-14 21:51:59 18u4aM-0004tA-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2171
    2003-03-14 21:52:00 18u4aM-0004tA-00 => wyatt@t2.net R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=helix.t2.net [216.174.158.107]
    2003-03-14 21:52:00 18u4aM-0004tA-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:04 18u4aS-0004tF-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2189
    2003-03-14 21:52:05 18u4aS-0004tF-00 => Dyew@prodigy.net R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=mx1.prodigy.net [207.115.63.20]
    2003-03-14 21:52:05 18u4aS-0004tF-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:09 18u4aX-0004tH-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2234
    2003-03-14 21:52:09 18u4aX-0004tH-00 => empireofnothing@hotmail.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=mx1.hotmail.com [65.54.252.99]
    2003-03-14 21:52:09 18u4aX-0004tH-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:14 18u4ac-0004tJ-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2202
    2003-03-14 21:52:14 18u4ac-0004tJ-00 => mattman917@yahoo.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=mx2.mail.yahoo.com [64.156.215.5]
    2003-03-14 21:52:14 18u4ac-0004tJ-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:19 18u4ah-0004tL-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2187
    2003-03-14 21:52:19 18u4ah-0004tL-00 => rob1150@infi.net R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=mx04.mindspring.com [207.69.200.198]
    2003-03-14 21:52:19 18u4ah-0004tL-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:24 18u4am-0004tN-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2209
    2003-03-14 21:52:27 18u4am-0004tN-00 => YellaFella215@aol.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=mailin-03.mx.aol.com [64.12.136.249]
    2003-03-14 21:52:27 18u4am-0004tN-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:29 18u4ar-0004tP-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2208
    2003-03-14 21:52:31 18u4at-0004tE-00 <= price@escriptions.friends.snappi.net H=(smtp61.gooberfoob.com) [66.101.183.61] P=smtp S=6815 id=1047708163.8306@smtp61.gooberfoob.com
    2003-03-14 21:52:32 18u4at-0004tE-00 => fairy <fairy@poetsmind.com> D=virtual_sa_user T=virtual_sa_userdelivery
    2003-03-14 21:52:32 18u4at-0004tE-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:34 18u4aw-0004tX-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2205
    2003-03-14 21:52:34 18u4aw-0004tX-00 ohio.mgw.rr.com [65.32.1.49]: Connection refused
    2003-03-14 21:52:37 18u4aw-0004tX-00 => mtellep@cinci.rr.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=ohio.mgw.rr.com [24.29.99.40]
    2003-03-14 21:52:37 18u4aw-0004tX-00 Completed
    2003-03-14 21:52:39 18u4b1-0004ta-00 <= nobody@srv08.primenet.cc U=nobody P=local S=2198
    2003-03-14 21:52:39 18u4b1-0004ta-00 => Joseph10786@aol.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp H=mailin-03.mx.aol.com [64.12.136.249

    See for yourself!

  2. #2
    zex
    zex is offline
    Member zex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    99

    Default

    All scripts and webform for sending e-mail are actualy sending mail as user nobody. If someone is using your server as relay for spaming then some of your custumers have bad configured formmail.pl script wich allows spamers to send binch of mails.
    Check for existance formmail.pl script on your server:
    find /home -name formmail.pl -print
    Signed,
    Dzevad Hadzic

  3. #3
    ozzi4648
    Guest

    Default

    Originally posted by zex
    All scripts and webform for sending e-mail are actualy sending mail as user nobody. If someone is using your server as relay for spaming then some of your custumers have bad configured formmail.pl script wich allows spamers to send binch of mails.
    Check for existance formmail.pl script on your server:
    find /home -name formmail.pl -print
    I have identified the user, who is supposedly running a legit business however what i dont like seeing is email going out as nobody@myhost.com and powerful@myhost.com. There are no such users on the board. This user does not have an email account called powerful@hisdomin.com. He has sent out 1700 email between 9 and 10pm. Some of his mail got stuck in the queue so i was able to find out who it is.

    Anyone know how i can ban the user from sending out email using exim? Removing his MX record is good enough i suppose.

    And on a server with 260 sites excuting that command would just bog down the server.
    Last edited by ozzi4648; 03-15-2003 at 12:50 AM.

  4. #4
    FWC
    FWC is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    354

    Default

    Originally posted by ozzi4648
    Some of his mail got stuck in the queue so i was able to find out who it is.
    Stuck mail can be your best friend at times. It's how I've caught a few people trying to spam. Nothing like one of them getting your main server IP on spam lists. Great fun...

Similar Threads

  1. Server not emailing on Cron and 3rd party apps.
    By gazza101uk in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 01:36 PM
  2. Emailing
    By akin0505 in forum New User Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-25-2006, 09:32 PM
  3. HELP! Server auto reboot when sombody FTP into.
    By Jedia in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 08:35 AM
  4. Sombody is leeching my bandwidth
    By sexy_guy in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-27-2003, 07:32 AM
  5. Could sombody please post their inetd.conf
    By ozzi4648 in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-03-2002, 10:23 PM