Has anyone else experenced this problem with Exim ?
We have setup a feedback loop with AOL for our IP range so they they can tell us of reported spam coming from domains on our servers.
We are currently getting quite a lot each day but I dont think the email is originating from our servers...
Here is an example...
Received: from rly-yi01.mx.aol.com (rly-yi01.mail.aol.com [172.18.180.129]) by air-yi03.mail.aol.com (v108_r1_b1.2) with ESMTP id MAILINYI33-7aa43d3bbaa51; Sun, 22 Jan 2006 12:07:23 -0500
Received: from OUR.SERVER.com (OUR.SERVER.com [OUR.ip.ip.67]) by rly-yi01.mx.aol.com (v108_r1_b1.2) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINYI16-7aa43d3bbaa51; Sun, 22 Jan 2006 12:06:51 -0500
Received: from [24.205.143.38] (helo=-1212051672)
by OUR.SERVER.com with smtp (Exim 4.52)
id 1F0ifn-0007q2-4u
for hello@domainonourserver.com; Sun, 22 Jan 2006 17:06:39 +0000
Received: from giantmark.com (-1220421984 [-1220145744])
by 24-205-143-38.dhcp.psdn.ca.charter.com (Qmailv1) with ESMTP id D8AF9414AA
for <hello@domainonOURserver.com>; Sun, 22 Jan 2006 10:59:40 -0500
Date: Sun, 22 Jan 2006 10:59:40 -0500
From: "Chinatowns C. Paymasters" <GFEDA@giantmark.com>
X-Mailer: The Bat! (v2.00.5) Personal
X-Priority: 3
Message-ID: <5734924973.20060122105940@giantmark.com>
To: <Undisclosed Recipients>
Subject: Software
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-AntiVirus: checked by AntiVir MailGate (version: 2.0.1.5; AVE: 6.17.0.2; VDF: 6.17.0.5; host: 24-205-143-38.dhcp.psdn.ca.charter.com)
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - OUR.SERVER.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - domainonourserver.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [0 0] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - giantmark.com
X-Source:
X-Source-Args:
X-Source-Dir:
X-AOL-IP: OUR.ip.ip.67
This almost looks like its being somehow relayed through our server. I spoke to someone who said the messag ID isnt even an Exim one and it couldnt have originated from our server at all.
A common factor in these I have identified is that the domains Ive looked into that have been reported to have been sending the spam on our servers ALL have mailto links on their main pages - now I dont know if this confuses things somewhat but I'm guessing the domain name and hostname are being spidered and then somehow spoofed or faked ? Would this make sense ?
Incidentally, on these domains that are being reported I could find no evidence of any mailing software or vunerable scripts that could be used to send mail by third parties.



LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks
Reply With Quote





