Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    523

    Exclamation Urgent!! user sending mailing as a gmail user!!

    I noticed a customer that setup his outlook with a gmail account but is using my smtp server and authenticating through it for sending mails.

    Is there a way in exim to block outgoing e-mails from address like:

    *@gmail.com
    *@yahoo.com
    *@hotmail.com
    *@aol.com


    I hope you Chirpy have a solution to this.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Member konrath's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Hello


    parts of this rules
    http://www.webhostgear.com/338.html

    and to find spam nobody then
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread....tended+logging


    in Mail Queue Manager ( whm ) you can find important information.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    523

    Angry Ok

    Thanks for the reply, but I have other problem with this rule, this avoid that users forge common addresses and send through the server that is fine.
    But today at the filter.log I found that is blocking e-mails at phpbb administrator config or even the contact forms of my site.

    This is what I have in antivirus.exim:

    logfile /var/log/filter.log
    if (
    $received_protocol is "local" or
    $received_protocol is "esmtpa"
    ) and (
    $header_from contains "@hotmail.com" or
    $header_from contains "@yahoo.com" or
    $header_from contains "@aol.com"
    ) then
    logwrite "$tod_log $message_id from $sender_address is forged fake"
    seen finish
    endif


    Log file looks like this

    date message id xxxx@hotmail.com is forged fake
    date message id xxxx@hotmail.com is forged fake
    date message id xxxx@hotmail.com is forged fake
    date message id myuser@server1.myserver.com is forged fake -> why is blocking my form if its not especified??¿

    At exim_mainlog appears this:

    2006-08-25 13:33:47 1GGect-0001y0-5B <= myuser@server1.myserver.com U=myuser P=local S=472 T="Thanks for writing us" from <myuser@server1.myserver.com> for mail@mydomain.com

    and when it block some mail at a phpbb forum or other app that rewrite sender, log this:

    2006-08-25 11:55:59 1GGd6F-0003Sv-0q "nobody@server1.myserver.com" from env-from rewritten as "username@gmail.com" by rule 1
    2006-08-25 11:55:59 1GGd6F-0003Sv-0q <= username@gmail.com U=nobody P=local S=1069 id=3f4e19fa86634d2acef4f78242f78c05@domain.com T="Welcome to Forums" from <nobody@server1.myserver.com> for username@yahoo.com


    Do it has to be with rewriting the sender?? is there a way to avoid that with a rule???

    Thank you!
    Last edited by bsasninja; 08-25-2006 at 12:46 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    523

    Default ok

    I think the problem is here:

    if $received_protocol is "local" or
    $received_protocol is "esmtpa"

    The rule is telling to block every message sent "local" and via "esmtpa" (mail client)

    I will try removing $received_protocol is "local" to avoid form problems and leaving only $received_protocol is "esmtpa"

    I will let you know..

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    523

    Default

    yes, that was the problem. Now is blocking only forged address sent through authenticated accounts with a mail client.

    Would be great to apply this localy but the rewrite sender is the problem.

    If anyone has lucid mind to fix this post it here, i´ll take a cup of coffee now

    Bye!

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Which user is sending mail massive
    By pablolibo in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 02:31 AM
  2. User nobody sending mail - Which account is it?
    By redlorry919 in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 12:16 PM
  3. Some advice on Mailman and user mailing list policies pls
    By freakysid in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-13-2004, 11:40 PM
  4. prevent user nobody from sending out mail
    By cazny in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2004, 11:36 AM
  5. new install of phpbb mailing twice on user creation..
    By mwhitby in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2003, 05:33 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube