Community Forums
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Community Notice
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member SuperBaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    306

    Default Use another SMTP server when sending emails to Yahoo address?

    We have never spammed but our IP is being blocked by Yahoo. Perhaps our server was compromised in the past.

    Is it possible to configure Exim so that "smtp.anotherserver.com" is used when the recipient's email address contains the word "yahoo"?
    SuperBaby

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,118

    Default

    You could add a smarthost router. Add something like:

    smarthost:
    driver = manualroute
    domains = yahoo.com
    transport = remote_smtp
    route_data = "other.server.net"


    after the democheck router in your exim.conf.

    The only downside is that you will have to check a valid mail account from this server on other.server.net so that this server will be able to relay mail through other.server.net. Or you will need to modify the exim configuration on other.server.net to always allow relaying from this server.

    This then presents another problem, you then effectively have an open relay allowing this server to always send out mail through other.server.net. Probably not a huge deal since in order for someone to take advantage of this they would have to have an account on this server and if they already have an account on this server they could just use that server to send out mail.

  3. #3
    Member SuperBaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    306

    Default

    Thanks, that is a very valuable advice to me.

    (1) What do I use to replace "other.server.net"? Is it "smtp-proxy.tm.net.my"?
    (2) You said I need an account. Where do I place the username/password?

    This is the SMTP info given by my telco for Exim:
    http://webmail.tm.net.my/info/smtp-proxy.html#Exim
    SuperBaby

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,118

    Default

    other.server.net would be whatever server you are wanting to send out mail through.

    Is the other server a cPanel server? That is the assumption that I was working on, but it doesn't have to be the case. The main IP address of your server needs to be able to relay mail through other.server.net. On a cPanel server this can be accomplished by writing a perl script or fetchmail or some other system to log into a valid POP account (it can be a dummy POP account) on other.server.net so that your server's main IP is always listed in the relayhosts file on other.server.net and can always relay mail through it. There may be alternative methods for accomplishing this same task.

    If other.server.net is not a cPanel server, then it would depend on what type of relaying model that server provides. If you can configure other.server.net to always allow relaying from your server's main IP address then you wouldn't need the POP-before-SMTP aspect.

  5. #5
    Member SuperBaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    306

    Default

    This sounds too complicated for me. I think I have to give up the idea. Thanks anyway.

    By the way, is there any commercial third-party smtp server that I may use (in case I wanna give it a try and do not want to use the one under tm.net.my)?
    SuperBaby

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperBaby View Post
    We have never spammed but our IP is being blocked by Yahoo. Perhaps our server was compromised in the past.

    Is it possible to configure Exim so that "smtp.anotherserver.com" is used when the recipient's email address contains the word "yahoo"?
    I wanted to follow up on your message since I'm dealing with a similar situation. After confirming with Barracuda and numerous spam lists and relay databases that none of the IPs in my subnet (255.255.255.248) are blacklisted, I finally learned that another server in the same Class C network was reported for spam.

    Some mail providers will now arbitrarily block mail from entire Class C blocks if they detects spam or malware originating from one or more hosts on that network. Unfortunately, I have no control over hosts in other subnets on the same Class C, so a smarthost seems like the only feasible solution.

Similar Threads & Tags
Similar threads

  1. Disable address validation when sending mail remotely using SMTP
    By noyearzero in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 04:57 PM
  2. yahoo emails give Unrouteable address
    By activa in forum E-mail Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-27-2008, 09:38 AM
  3. Unrouteable address - Yahoo emails -
    By activa in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-22-2008, 03:32 PM
  4. How to ban sending/receiving emails from an email address?
    By SuperBaby in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-24-2007, 05:28 PM
  5. emails are not sending at yahoo,hotmail and msn.
    By ephlox in forum cPanel and WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2006, 12:06 PM
Linkedin       Facebook       Twitter       RSS       Flickr       YouTube