1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Access PHP.ini

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by hannibalsmith, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. hannibalsmith

    hannibalsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Bit of a newbie with regards to CPanal and WHM. How do I access my php.ini file if it is stored in /usr/local/lib/php.ini?

    Thanks,

    H.
     
  2. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is this your server or one you have rented? If you are renting a hosting account you will only be able to make an override php.ini file for use on your sites.
     
  3. hannibalsmith

    hannibalsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey gtgeorge, thanks for the quick reply.

    I have a virtual miniserver which has ssh access and I can run commands (not sure how though! :) ).


    However, I am fine on Windows, but a complete novice with *nix. I suppose I need to know how to run commands first.

    Never mind, I appreciate that this is quite an ambiguous question. I will ask their support team if they can shed any light on what I need to/can do.

    Thanks again for your time. I am sure with practice I will be able to master this *nux malarky! :)

    Jamie.
     
  4. hannibalsmith

    hannibalsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for the help.

    I will login and see how to lauch the equivalent of cmd prompt in my WHM control panel and try running the command to see what I get.

    Thanks again - I appreciate your help as I am out on a limb here,

    Jamie.
     
  5. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you wish to edit the file, you can use

    nano /usr/local/lib/php.ini

    Might want to type nano --help first to make sure you can navigate the editor first. ;)

    EDIT: You may also make changes to the php.ini under Service Configuration>>PHP Configuration Editor in WHM
     
    #5 gtgeorge, Mar 19, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2008
  6. Tymsah

    Tymsah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi,
    some new compile ea3 /usr/local/php4/lib/php.ini

    create new php file

    <?
    phpinfo();
    ?>

    upload your server and find php.ini directory path name.

    regards,
     
  7. hannibalsmith

    hannibalsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. I have gained access to root now via SSH and can now edit the php.ini file.

    Thanks for taking the time to reply for me.

    Jamie.
     

Share This Page