1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ANN: cPanel Proxy - for people behind strict firewalls

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by myplacedk, Oct 22, 2003.

  1. myplacedk

    myplacedk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have seen many questions about how to access cPanel (including webmail and WHM) on port 80, if you are behind a strict firewall that doesn't allow access to the ports used by cPanel.

    cPanel Proxy is a PHP-script that works by listening on port 80, and forward traffic to cPanel.

    So far I've only found two problems: HTTPS is not supported, and file upload isn't supported yet.

    You can download the script from here: http://myplace.dk/php/cpanelproxy/
     
  2. mickeymouse

    mickeymouse Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dear myplacedk,

    This seems to be a useful suggestion. Many will definitely find this useful.

    Regards,
     
  3. myplacedk

    myplacedk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    New release, file upload is now supported.

    Next issue is performance. I have several places in the script made suggestions for performance improvements.
    I (or somebody else *hint*) just need study it a little.
     
  4. Solokron

    Solokron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Very useful. I will give it a shot!
     
  5. anand

    anand Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    real nice work dude.
     
  6. chican0

    chican0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I have been trying to get this to work as the instructions say but for some reason it just doenst want to work for me. It keeps prompting me for the username and password until it errors out.

    Is there a certain format to input the username and password or is my system just broken. :)
     
  7. myplacedk

    myplacedk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The format is exactly the same, as if you logged on directly to cPanel.

    If you trust me enough, you can send me your username, password and hostname for your cPanel, then I cna probably find the problem for you.

    I wouldn't trust a stranger that much. If you do, please remember to send me the info in private. ;-)
     
  8. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone get this to work with horde?

    When I try loggin into horde it just keeps showing the login screen.
     
  9. Solokron

    Solokron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Anyone get this working with phpsuexec?
     
  10. elleryjh

    elleryjh Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It works great for me - cpanel, horde, phpmyemail, everything! (I am using phpsuexec. That shouldn't make a difference) I'm using it as my main interface for all cutomers and have modified it so that it uses a friendly and good-looking login interface, cookies, plus a top frame branded with my company logo and a logout button. And a great feature - remembers peoples' favorite webmail program!
     
  11. Solokron

    Solokron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    It works great on non-phpsuexec servers of ours. It is unable to pass the information on the phpsuexec ones though.

     
  12. chican0

    chican0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    That must be the reason why I can not get this to work on my server. I have phpsuexec enabled. :(
     
  13. icanectc

    icanectc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does not work for me using PhpSuexec wont pass the username and/or password.
     
  14. Solokron

    Solokron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Is there a way to create a form to pass the information instead of the pop-up?
     
  15. myplacedk

    myplacedk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The login problems is solved in the new version (0.4), it now works with php suexec.

    There is also an Auto Installer for easier installation and upgrades.

    Grab it while it's hot! ;)

    http://myplace.dk/php/cpanelproxy/
     
  16. chican0

    chican0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Awsome! The autoinstaller worked like a charm. Great work.

    Only thing I noticed which might or might not be a bug is the "Try it now" link on the autoinstaller page. The URLs which it linked to were, http://webmail.domain.com/webmail/ which did not work. It would instead try to redirect to http://webmail.domain.com:2095/. If I manually changed it to http://webmail.domain.com/, it was all fine. This applies to webmail, cpanel, and whm.

    Again, Thank you very much for the bug fixes. I was paying for a proxy service at proxifier.com.

    I still have to enable phpsuexec and see how that works. I will report back on that later on.
     
  17. myplacedk

    myplacedk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for telling me. My mistake, it's fixed now. :)

    I'm glad you like my work. :)
     
  18. jamesbond

    jamesbond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I installed the newest version and it works very well :)

    One question about https, will this ever be supported? Or is it somehow impossible/difficult to implement?
     
  19. myplacedk

    myplacedk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I haven't tried, but maybe it works as it is now. But you will need to install cPanel Proxy so it can be reached by https, and most users can't do that.

    If you (or anyone else) have tried, you are welcome to contact me (niels (a) myplace dot dk). If it didn't work for you, I may be able to make it work.
     
  20. jamesbond

    jamesbond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I could set up a SSL cert on a seperate IP to try it, but I would like to use the server SSL cert.

    What about installing the proxy in /usr/local/apache/htdocs ?

    For example for webmail I could create a subdirectory /mail

    So if I upload the files to /usr/local/apache/htdocs/mail and access https://www.anydomainonserver.com/mail it should access the proxy located in /usr/local/apache/htdocs/mail

    Does this make any sense? :)

    I'm not sure what modifications are needed in the script though to make this work.

    I'll take a look at it tomorrow.
     

Share This Page