1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bandwidth issues (whats the go?)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by exodux, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. exodux

    exodux Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    OK! Yet another bandwidth thread issue....

    Currently viewing the bandwidth usage of the clients on my server and it looks all totally screwed up!

    Looking at the users through the root account, it states as follows

    user1
    Bandwidth Limit: 3.91 Gig (Suppose to be 4GIG)
    Used: 11.74 Meg
    1% used

    user2
    Bandwidth Limit: 3.91 Gig (Suppose to be 4GIG)
    Used: 3.38 Meg
    1% used

    so on and so forth!

    I dont see how 3.38M is 1% of 3.91GIG and i also dont see how 11.74M is 1% of 3.91GIG.
    The stats looks good and all, but it aint spittin anything out correctly.
    Starting to wonder myself now if the bandwidth stats are correct or not.


    EDIT:

    Just logged into cPanel of one of the clients accounts (user1) and it states:
    Bandwidth usage (current month) 25.12 Megabytes

    This is becoming a joke now!
     
    #1 exodux, Oct 18, 2004
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2004
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,499
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Are you running the latest EDGE? IF not, then upgrading might be a good idea since the changelog shows fixes with the bandwdith reporting pages. If you are, then I'd suggest you log it in bugzilla.
     
  3. exodux

    exodux Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    I've upgrade to the latest 'Stable' version.
     
  4. Lesli

    Lesli New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm seeing something similar. I'm using the latest STABLE build (cpanel 9.9.6), and the root WHM shows that a particular account has used 22.62 GB. The individual user control panel shows a usage of 9274.01 megabytes. (skin tag in use: cpanel Stats="countbandwidth()".

    I'm using cPanel 9.9.6.

    Is there an alternate cPanel tag to use for displaying bandwidth usage in account skins?
     
  5. nickn

    nickn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'll take it easy...since it took me a second to understand.

    firstly, it shows 1% because it's less than 1% and the minimum it'll show is 1%

    Secondly...3000megabyte == 2.93gigabyte

    3 gigabyte == 3 072 megabyte
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,991
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That's why with all my account packages, if the package says it has 10 GB of bandwidth, I make the package so it gives 10240 MB since that is the correct figure. If I entered 10000 for the bandwidth when creating the package, I'd actually be cheating the customer.

    It's complicated to some, but that's how it works.

    When exodux said "Bandwidth Limit: 3.91 Gig (Suppose to be 4GIG)", he means he gave it 4000 MB which is actually 3.90625 GB.


    For anyone, if you create an account and give it 10000 MB, you're not really giving 10 GB. You need to multiply your GB by 1024 to get the proper MB value.
     
  8. FootnMouth

    FootnMouth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can you make cpanel report b/w usage for aditional ports?


    and just a little note,
    mega = 1,000,000
    giga = 1,000,000,000
    .. .. ..
    but in 1998 the International Electrotechnical Commission approved a standard.
    mebi = 1,048,576
    gibi = 1,073,741,824

    so i supopose if u sold 100GB not GiB of bandwidth you could argue the point, but it will just anoy your clients. so probably a good idea not to.

    but if any of you know how i can make this monitor aditional ports it would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  9. mher

    mher Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The new bandwidth system is causing the load to hike on my server whenever i open the view bandwidt usage.
    is there a way that i can downgrade back to version 9.7 ?
     
  10. webdogpro

    webdogpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    is their any way to fix this issue with the bandwidth with out using the EDGE version i run a live server and dont want to use a not 99% stable version.
     

Share This Page