1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't login via FTP / Create new FTP users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by davvve, Apr 10, 2003.

  1. davvve

    davvve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Europe
    I've got a little problem on one of my new cpanel servers. Users can't connect via FTP.
    It seems as it's impossible to create new FTP users through the CPanel interface too. I get this error when trying to add a FTP user:

    /David
     
  2. davvve

    davvve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Europe
    I also get this when trying to switch from pureftp to proftp:
     
  3. dxer

    dxer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    I have submited Ticket about that problem 10 days ago and no one replied me yet !
     
  4. davvve

    davvve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Europe
    Submitted one yesterday... Last time it took about 4 days to get a reply I believe.
     
  5. NileWeb

    NileWeb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I had the same problem and I could solve it.

    just please tell me is this a new CPANEL installation or it is a loaded server?
     
  6. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The same problem!!! I cannot login to my own account via FTP even if I change the password
    a) from root "passwd username"
    b) from Cpanel
    c) from WHM


    It should be fixed ASAP!
     
  7. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    Did anyone ever figure this out? It's doing it for me too.
     
  8. radwulf

    radwulf New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here... changing the account password in CPanel will not change the ftp password.

    Also, I can't seem to be able to create new ftp accounts in CPanel.
     
  9. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same here !!

    Support ticket not solved - about 7-8 weeks old !!

    Is everyone with this problem using FreeBSD ?
     
  10. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    This is on Linux for me.
     
  11. Lamar

    Lamar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here on a new server. I think I will open a ticket.
     
  12. gfmorris

    gfmorris New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Anyone ever seen a resolution on this? I'm having this issue as well.

    GFM

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    No resolution to my knowledge.

    Drew

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On my server Proftpd used the wrong config file.
    Seems there is 2 of them, don't know if this is/was
    a Freebds problem only but it's worth checking it out !?

    After it was changed to the correct config everything worked,
    I think, Cpanel fixed it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    Well I'm using pureftpd so perhaps that is the problem.

    Drew

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. gfmorris

    gfmorris New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Yes, I have ... and it tells me that it can't chown the group.

    GFM

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 15857
     
  17. ptez

    ptez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Oops, I got the same problem.

    No solution?
     
  18. mvital

    mvital Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    i have the same problem for more than a week ... my clients r starting to be upset !! :(
     
  19. mvital

    mvital Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    i try fix with Synchronize FTP accounts, dont worked !!!
     
  20. ptez

    ptez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I try to rebuild apahce (easyapache option 6), and it seems working?

    but after one day, my server apache got failed, and then I have to change apache setting back.

    Not quite sure whether this is the problem.

    No solutions?
     

Share This Page