1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CentOs 4.4 setup question (for centos users)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bsasninja, Mar 22, 2007.

1. bsasninja

bsasninja Member

I used the CentOs 4.4 single server cd version to setup a server, but I found that some tools as gcc are not installed.
    This kinds of things affects cpanel/whm first download/install ?

What do you recommend single server cd version or setup it with the 4 cd sets selecting server workstation for setup or is the same thing?¿

Do you recommend automatic partitioning?
    BTW, i have 2 disk in one will be the OS and Cpanel and the other will be used as /backup for whm backups. My question is the /backup partion has to be set in the os setup?

Sorry for this questions cause Its my first time building up a 2u server and im going to put it in a colocation service. I always used to have dedicated servers with all the things installed :)

Thanks

#1 bsasninja, Mar 22, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  2. dalem

dalem Active Member

MMM ive used the single server cd before and it's always had gcc installed (must have changed it)

4 disk set use disk 1 only minimal install will work
    I personallly install the txt editors & bind

manually partition
    this is how i do it

/swap 2000 or 2x ram I never go over 4000
    /boot 100
    / all the rest

but how you partition is up to you

the second drive you can mount later

3. xerophyte

xerophyte Member

I would put the tmp on different partition so you can secure easily, otherwise you have to create tmp files sytem and need to secure it

cpanel does need gcc and few other development tools, you should have a option to select on the install cd.

hope that helps

4. dalem

dalem Active Member

cpanel automaticly puts /tmp in its own partition during intallation

5. bsasninja

bsasninja Member

I have 4GB of ram, the swap should be 8000mb?