1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel installation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shef, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. Shef

    Shef New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I installed cPanel,


    2012-04-11 20:33:50 1762 ( INFO): Done
    2012-04-11 20:33:50 236 ( INFO): cPanel install finished in 193 minutes and 37 seconds!

    and it doesn't work when I put the IP in the browsers address:

    IP(put servers IP here):2087

    Any idea why?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,123
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  3. Shef

    Shef New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I dont think it comes with a firewall. My server is unmanaged. But if it does have it, do I need to reinstall the os since I already installed cPanel?
     
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Do you have CentOS distribution installed?

    CentOS has default firewall rules that block access to cPanel ports. You can flush them with `iptables -F`. Also, remove them from /etc/sysconfig/iptables to prevent them coming back on a system reboot or service restart.
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Active Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Hello,

    Generally speaking, it isn't advisable to flush the firewall and be left without any rules at all. Rather than doing that, you might consider getting CSF:

    ConfigServer Security & Firewall

    Here's a post on how to install CSF for cPanel:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f185/china...r-assistance-requested-226002.html#post928932
    It would open up the necessary ports for cPanel, WHM, webmail and so on. Otherwise, if you don't want to have a firewall to protect unused ports from attack, then at the very least don't edit /etc/sysconfig/iptables directly after flushing the firewall. Simply issue this command after you've cleared the rules:

    Code:
    service iptables save
    That will save the new rules, which are basically no rules. If you edit /etc/sysconfig/iptables directly, you could end up causing iptables to not even function at all and, later on, if you wanted to use a firewall, you'd then not be able to get it working.

    Thanks!
     
  6. Shef

    Shef New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    CentOS distribution? Not sure, I got CentOS though.

    I re-installed cPanel and I updated it and still can't access it.
     
  7. Shef

    Shef New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's my firewall.
     
  8. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Have you restarted your server after re-installing cPanel? please try out.

    Also, check in cPanel logs to see if there is any error while installation. The location of cPanel error logs is /usr/local/cpanel/error_logs
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Active Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    It appears the rules to open the ports in the INPUT chain right now might be prevented from loading due to this line occurring before them:

    Code:
    75489 101M RH-Firewall-1-INPUT all -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
    In that chain, this line in the firewall is blocking cPanel functioning if that's the case:

    Code:
    3298 482K REJECT all -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0 reject-with icmp-host-prohibited
    If that is what is happening, you'd need to add the cPanel ports and any others that need to be opened (such as port 25 for email) before it passes to the other chain:

    Code:
    /sbin/iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 2082:2083 -j ACCEPT
    /sbin/iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 2086:2087 -j ACCEPT
    /sbin/iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 2095:2096 -j ACCEPT
    /sbin/iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 25 -j ACCEPT
    Those are just some of the ports. You can see the full list in that INPUT chain such as port 53 tcp and udp and so on. You can always try flushing the firewall temporarily (without saving the firewall) to see if you can access WHM then. If you can, it is what I've stated above just now and you'd need to add the rules. Alternatively, you could use CSF instead as previously mentioned. It provides a firewall that typically is better configured than the default RedHat one, since it provides brute force detection with LFD with it.
     
  10. Shef

    Shef New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That did the trick.

    I'm getting flooded in my email with this:

    lfd failed @ Fri Apr 13 07:50:47 2012. A restart was attempted automagically.

    Service Check Method: [check command]

    Number of Restart Attempts: 86
     
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Active Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    CSF and LFD aren't our services, so if you did install CSF and LFD is failing, please post on their forum:

    CSF Forum
     

Share This Page