1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel/WHM not accepting external connections

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BNI|Zach, Apr 12, 2008.

  1. BNI|Zach

    BNI|Zach New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just setup and installed cPanel/WHM for the first time. Did a fresh install of CentOS 5.1, setup networking, then installed cPanel.

    It seems to be up and running as I can SSH to the box and lynx localhost (or lynx to any of the configured IPs), and the cPanel/WHM splash screen appears. When I try to browse the box from my browser, however, I get nothing. Almost like the firewall is refusing connections, but I know 100% that it is configured properly.

    Anyone else ever have issues like this?

    --Zach
     
  2. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Just for a quick test, from your PC open a DOS box and telnet to your server like this:

    telnet www.whatever.com 80

    if you do not have a domain or not sure of the dns do it to the ip

    telnet xxx.xxx.xxx 80

    hit enter and then type in any normal character, like a letter or number and hit enter/return again, see if you get ANY kind of response. If nothing comes up then you are not getting anything from apache.

    Also go to WHM and check the APACHE STATUS to see what, if anything it has fed to users and what the status reports back.

    Additionally if you can SSH to the system, do it and then lynx to an outside system like this:

    lynx www.yahoo.com

    this will produce a lynx screen of your viewing a remote http source to see if outbound port 80 is open. If you can see out to another box via lynx then you know port 80 is ok outbound. I cannot imagine port 80 in being blocked and port 80 out from your machine NOT being blocked without an intentional configuration like being on something like optonline or roadrunner which blocks port 80 in to you but not out.
     
    #2 nyjimbo, Apr 12, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2008
  3. BNI|Zach

    BNI|Zach New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks for the reply. I have tried all of that already. I know for sure that all services are up and running properly. And I can access external hosts from that box.

    It's strange that I can SSH to the host. but apache won't accept connections. I just ran a service httpd status, and everything is running fine. Additionally, I tried to access the box via http from a server connected to the same switch as the problematic server. No connection there either. So any external host is being refused. This rules out the firewall.

    Setup cPanel on another Cent0S 5.1 box, exact same server model and installed with the same options. cPanel install completes successfully, but again, no external connections allowed.
     
  4. BNI|Zach

    BNI|Zach New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    FYI, these are test licenses. Would that have any impact?
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    No, when you are on a test license everything functions as if you had a paid license.
     

Share This Page