1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpbackup-exclude.conf oddness

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by stuartmcdonald, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. stuartmcdonald

    stuartmcdonald New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    This morning I found cpbackup-exclude.conf files in all home directories. The files vary from account to account, but in most cases are listing the following to be excluded from backup:

    core.
    .MirrorSearch
    .cpcpan
    .wysiwygPro_
    access-logs
    .cpan
    .cpanel/datastore

    I haven't created these files -- would they have been made as a part of a cpanel upgrade?

    Thanks

    Sorry should have noted, I'm running:
    cPanel 11.24.4-C33528 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 4.7 i686 on standard
     
    #1 stuartmcdonald, Jan 22, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2009
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,118
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Yes. These file will be skipped (if they exist) when backups are created.
     
  3. stuartmcdonald

    stuartmcdonald New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok thanks for the quick reply.

    What brought them to my attention in the first place is I'm getting an "Excessive resource usage" report from lfd saying:

    Command Line: /bin/gtar -c -f - -X /home/accounthere/cpbackup-exclude.conf

    Has been running for on 7 hours now -- seems pretty odd
     
  4. pixelaté

    pixelaté New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, I've been getting the same messages just today too.

    I'm having to kill the process but I'm just getting more messages for the next one in the list :(
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,118
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Might want to put in a ticket to cPanel so the Devs can have a look.
     
  6. greetingsc

    greetingsc Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm having the same issue, lfd is reporting the following:

    Time: Fri Jan 23 08:44:31 2009 -0500
    Account: someuser
    Resource: Process Time
    Exceeded: 23527 > 1800 (seconds)
    Executable: /bin/tar
    Command Line: /bin/gtar -c -f - -X /home/someuser/cpbackup-exclude.conf .
    PID: 14354
    Killed: No

    For me it only happens for one account, yesterday I killed this, and the rest of cpbackup ran fine.

    Here were the backup processes running today:
    root 27556 0.0 0.0 4288 1700 ? SN 01:00 0:00 /scripts/cpbackup
    root 13762 0.0 0.0 1396 360 ? SN 02:11 0:01 /usr/local/cpanel/bin/cpuwatch 2.0 /scripts/pkgacct someuser /backup/cpbackup/daily backup
    owaneco 14354 0.0 0.0 1720 828 ? SN 02:12 0:02 /bin/gtar -c -f - -X /home/someuser/cpbackup-exclude.conf .
     
    #6 greetingsc, Jan 23, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,118
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I think you'd want to exclude the exclude file to stop these alerts. Backups were running, CSF doesn't "know" cpbackup-exclude.conf and so is flagging it for you to check out. (set to ignore if you choose to)

    How large is the account out of curiosity?
     
  8. greetingsc

    greetingsc Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It isn't a lfd issue, that is just helping bring the issue to life, the issue is:
    </bin/gtar -c -f - -X /home/someuser/cpbackup-exclude.conf> is running forever unless it is manually killed.


    The account only has 300 megs in the homedir.

    Mike
     
  9. pixelaté

    pixelaté New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, this isn't stopping for me. The affected accounts are minimal too. I let one run overnight. It ran for about 10 hours before I killed it.

    Something pretty wrong. I think I'll submit a ticket.
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,118
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I just backed up an account that's almost 4 GB and I did see this but it was not using a lot of CPU and ended when the backup ended. Seemed to be fine here. (CURRENT)
     
  11. bear

    bear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone found a resolution to this? I've started seeing these on one box today, and like the others, it will run indefinitely until manually ended. Strace shows it just sitting doing nothing, so it appears hung.
     

Share This Page