1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Debug ldap support for cPanel accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mobcdi, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. mobcdi

    mobcdi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi all,

    I'm having a strange problem getting ldap working for accounts on a WHM server. I have php module and apache module installed but I can't get any account to use ldap.

    For testing I installed drupal 6 with the ldap help module. It adds a status option to a drupal install to see if ldap should work on the site the problem is that when I try to access it the site errors out and a script timed out message is added to /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log

    Is there anyway I can get more details about whats happening with regards ldap, apache and php5
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Well-Known Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,523
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hello :)

    Could you paste the full error message that outputs to the Apache error log when you attempt to access the website?

    Thank you.
     
  3. mobcdi

    mobcdi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It doesn't seem to have any real details just that it takes a long time to respond before timing out

    Message to User

    The request was not completed. The server met an unexpected condition.

    193.1.101.122/~cPanelAccount/drupal6/?q=admin/settings/ldaphelp/status (port 80)

    Nothing in accounts cPanel error log or raw access log

    The Apache Error logs give
    "File does not exist :/usr/local/apache/htdocs/home referer http://cPanelAccountIP/cPanelAccount/drupal6/?q=admin/settings/ldaphelp/status

    But I wouldn't expect a file to exist in a database driven site

    If I try to connect to the ldap server via moodle software it returns the error LDAP-module cannot connect to any servers: Server: 'MYLDAPServer' 'Resource id #77', Bind result: ''

    If I run php -m it lists ldap exactly like my other WHM server that is running ldap enabled drupal and moodle sites
    I exported the apache build from the working server to the problem server but that didn't solve the problem either
     
  4. lbeachmike

    lbeachmike Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Beach, NY
    Does cpanel include LDAP support? I have a client asking for this - he is trying to configure it on his iPad, but I am under the impression that there is not yet cpanel support for this functionality.
     
  5. mobcdi

    mobcdi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Turned out to be a firewall down the line that was blocking comms between ldap and the WHM hosted accounts
     
  6. mobcdi

    mobcdi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    AFAIK it doesn't come out of the box to allow ldap for the accounts the server hosts but it is possible if you include the necessary modules in php and the appropriate wordpress or drupal extension/module/plugin to enable ldap for client accounts

    As for enabling ldap login to access cPanel itself I never tried to set it up but it would be useful. I don't think its possible and wouldn't even know where to start
     

Share This Page