1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP for root

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CraftyPanda, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. CraftyPanda

    CraftyPanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all

    I want to connect to my server via FTP so I can upload backups created via FTP to a remote server. Can yuo by default use username : root password : root password to connect via FTP?

    I have tried but it won't connect. Allow connection with root is set to yes in whm. DO you have to doing something else?
     
  2. Astral God

    Astral God Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Try WinSCP trough SSH, not trough FTP.
     
  3. CraftyPanda

    CraftyPanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you for this, worked a treat. Where do I copy the Backup files to so they are available inside WHM for restore please?
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    in WHM-> Backup -> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File
    it says:

    "The files must be in one of these directories on the server: /home, /home2, /home3, /root, /usr, /usr/home, /web"
     
  5. CraftyPanda

    CraftyPanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you for telling me it says it on the server....
     

Share This Page