1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

login webmail Internal Server Error User is over quota

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by gamgam, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. gamgam

    gamgam New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello,

    first my client account mas over quota .. and he cannot acces cpanel and webmail .. and then i have upgrade the package so now he can acces cpanel but when try to login webmail it show error :
    ----------------------------------
    Internal Server Error

    User 'useraccount' is over quota.
    ----------------------------------

    anybody now how to fix it ..

    thank's
     
  2. Arvand

    Arvand Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am getting the same. User went over quota. Upgraded the plan. cPanel works. Webmail does not work. Same error.
     
  3. InstaCarma_Tech

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Have you checked whether the email account in question has exceeded the allotted quota?
     
  4. sohails

    sohails New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Karachi
    go to whm, go in tweak settings, disable all webmails and save
    then enable them again...I had same problem and this worked for me
    best of luck
     
  5. Arvand

    Arvand Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    /scripts/upcp --force did it for me
     
  6. lehels

    lehels New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Internal Server Error

    User 'username' is over quota.
    cpsrvd/11.25 Server at server"

    Why is this happening [?]
     
  7. C4talyst

    C4talyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here; any word from cPanel on this?
     
  8. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Seeing the message "User $username is over quota" is normal if the applicable user account has reached its file-system disk quota. If the message were not displayed and instead the user allowed to proceed this would post a significant risk for data loss. For example, if during the course of the webmail session user-owned files, such as e-mails and related data, were written or edited (by a process running as the user) I believe it is likely there would be data loss by potentially causing the written or edited files to be emptied due to insufficient space available within the defined user quota.

    To correct the issue it is necessary to increase the defined disk quota of the user account.
     
  9. Davec

    Davec New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here after upgrade last night.

    /scripts/upcp --force did not work for me

    But, this tricks mentioned in the early post work:
    go to whm, go in tweak settings, disable all webmails and save
    then enable them again
     
  10. Constantin

    Constantin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /scripts/fixquotas is also fixing the issue.
     
  11. rligg

    rligg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have this same problem. Fixquotas initially fixes the issue, but it comes back once a user goes over disk quota. It seems like adding more space in the account doesn't actually add disk space mailwise.
     
  12. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    I recommend escalating this issue via a ticket so that we can assist with investigation and further troubleshooting. If I understand correctly, an account disk quota is updated (increased to alleviate a user being over quota) but when the account user accesses cPanel Webmail they are still presented with the same issue as if the disk quota was never increased; if I may have misunderstood please let me know.

    For reference, a ticket submission may be initiated via the links in my forums signature or via WHM: Main >> Support >> Support Center >> Contact cPanel. When available, please PM me your ticket ID number so I may follow-up internally.
     
  13. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    The symptom is due to the "over quota" status being cached. For reference, this information is stored in the following directory path:
    Code:
    /var/cpanel/overquota/
    Here is a command that could be used to view the information stored in the above directory:
    Code:
    # grep -HnR '' /var/cpanel/overquota | sort
    This issue is currently being examined via the following internal case ID number: #36820
     
  14. beddo

    beddo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Quota errors on webmail

    Hi,
    I have a mailbox who can't log in to webmail since we upgraded to 11.25
    They get the error "User 'username' is over quota." however this user had an unlimited quota on the system. The specific mailbox had a 250Mb quota and was using 3Mb.
    I have tried various solutions that other people have suggested to people with similar problems as follows:

    1) Give the user a specific quota well above the current usage
    2) Change the quota on the mailbox to see if that refreshes anything
    3) Disable quota caching in WHM.
    4) Disable all the webmails and then re-enable
    5) UPCP

    I did find a temporary solution by moving the contents of /var/cpanel/overquota into a sub directory however the problem recurred 56 minutes later when the contents of the overquota directory were regenerated.

    Its not bandwidth usage or anything like that (that's at 20%).

    How does the system generate the overquota folder? I imagine there's something wrong further into the system that I need to look at.

    With a bit of digging whilst typing I found:

    /home/username/.cpanel/email_accounts.cache

    This has the right values for diskquota (262144000) and diskused (2603255)

    Looking a bit further in the cache, these files seem related though I'm not sure.
    I renamed those files and they were regenerated almost immediately. ___ was regenerated identical and ___home___username was generated with a couple of different characters..

    I don't know if it'll make any difference but we shall see!
    /home/username/.cpanel/caches/filesys
     
  15. beddo

    beddo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England
    No difference, overquota regenerated and the webmail breaks for the user again.
     
  16. nettigritty

    nettigritty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Has this been fixed in RELEASE_42404?
     
  17. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    The internal case is still active for further examination. For the user experiencing the issue, have you ensured the account disk quota has been increased? If it is definitely increased, I would consider checking if there is a cache file in the overquota directory mentioned earlier. The overquota cache lifetime is 1 hour (3600 seconds).
     
  18. nettigritty

    nettigritty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    The account was within quota. I had to remove the file from /var/cpanel/overquota to get it working.
     
  19. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Thank you for the information and for sharing the specific resolution used.
     
  20. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    Please submit a support request for this issue as this will require a more thorough inspection via direct SSH access to the system. When available, please PM me referencing this thread and your new ticket ID number so I may follow-up internally. For reference, the links in my forums signature may be used to initiate a ticket submission, such as via one of the following: (Support Options & Additional Support Options).
     

Share This Page