1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple Addon Domains to One Subdomain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by heyjohnboy, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. heyjohnboy

    heyjohnboy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    I have about seven addon domains pointing to the same subdomain and document root, but I can't for the life of me remember how I did that. Was it prior to a change or upgrade to Cpanel?

    When I tried to create another one within the addon domain section using the same Subdomain/FTP Username and document root I got an error that said: "Error from domain wrapper: Domain already exists, it was not added."

    If I specify a different Subdomain/FP Username Cpanel allows me to point to the same document root, but is there still any way to point the addon to the same subdomain too? I can't imagine what I did differently the first seven times (although it was quite some time ago).

    Any guidance would be appreciated! ;)
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    You can add the Add-on domain with it's default document root and set a redirection from the 'Manage Redirection' option to point to the sub-domain.
     
  3. heyjohnboy

    heyjohnboy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    The problem isn't the document root, as you can make that whatever you want and therefore don't need to use redirection.

    The problem is when attempting to use the same Subdomain/FTP Username. It won't let you do that, but I was able to do that before. I'm trying to find out if something changed and if there's another way to set multiple addon domains to the same Subdomain or if there's a way to create an addon domain without having to create a subdomain at all.
     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Well, I would say, have someone look into it as they will get a clear idea as what exactly the problem is.
     
  5. heyjohnboy

    heyjohnboy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    Anyone have any actual insight they can offer?
     

Share This Page